PDA

View Full Version : The Show Must Go On ....

Jumo211
11-13-2012, 12:43 AM
Never give up !
what looks like one small step for a combat flight community , might be a giant leap for CloD mankind ! :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PyP2M9YzggA

Liz Lemon
11-13-2012, 04:49 AM
If we could get a .msh extractor updated for COD then there is a lot that could be done with this game.

As far as I can tell there is little difference between the old IL2 .msh format and the new one.* Its fairly easy to get aircraft from il2 into COD with a few lines added to the .msh header. But without an extractor it makes things a bit less fun. The MS 406 in IL2 is nice, but the model needs some work to meet COD standards ;)

*my background is in 3d modelling. Thankfully I don't have to mess with programming on a day to day basis

CWMV
11-13-2012, 05:17 AM
alright! Bout time!

Jumo211
11-13-2012, 12:09 PM
Absolutely ! , extractor would be very nice , maybe TimQ will come to the rescue once again ; )
In the meantime I just thought why wait ? for what ? developers have said this is it for Cliffs of Dover , done .
I do sucks at retexturing especially with .dds otherwise I would have already retextured channel
map just to see if there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
Have been reading guys would like to change ground textures , we need guys like Redko did textures
in IL-2 1946 , others would like to change aircraft decals , OK that's possible as well ,
some others would like to give it a go with tuning flight model like Kwiatek to reflect historic data
even further , it can be done .
I am interested in tunning effects like always , volumetric textures like SoilSplash.dds is
1.33 MB size with 11 layers , HeavySmoke.dds is 1.33 MB with 11 layers etc...imagine flying through it in
zoom in view with antialiasing set at 16x or even 32x ( if it works ) , = single digits FPS .
Every time there is ground explosion , soil splash etc.. these will eat alive tons of graphics cards unable