PDA

View Full Version : Skinning Tutorials

meplay
06-16-2011, 08:46 AM
Hi guys i would like to try and start skinning and was wondering if there any good Tutorials for beginners? Ive got GIMP and PS and have been messing with them for some time now but ive never attempted to do a skin :cool:

Any help would be great :)

S!

Shado
06-16-2011, 11:02 AM
"Any help would be great"

Same, your right there ;).
I'll post up my basics later, there is no right or wrong way, it's down to you how you do things, I'm sure the great artists have their own way of doing things and this could turn out to be a very interesting thread Meplay, in a positive way that is.
:-)
S!

LcSummers
06-16-2011, 12:41 PM
That would be great. A tutorial. I never made a skin but want to start, understand how it works. Hopefully its not too complicated.
I see everywhere skinners making fantastic skins.

Shado
06-16-2011, 07:56 PM
Right let me start my bit off by saying I'm no expert, there maybe easier and more time efficient ways to acheive the finished skin you want.

But this is my basic start to creating a skin.

I use both CS5 and GIMP to do my editing both have their strengths and weaknesses so I have the best of both worlds.

So, I start with three layers, the main skin, panel line layer and lastly the weathering layer, now depending on which aircraft you want to skin not all of them are available from your skins folders.

You can use the fantastic Kegetys mod available here:
http://www.kegetys.net/
To extract out the various layers that go to make up these skins and then use a programme called DXTbmp to convert them from .dds file to 24bit bmp files. ( I wont be going into setup details RTFM :)).

DXTbmp here: http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/DXTBmp-Download-53836.html