PDA

View Full Version : Blenheim take-off issue

1.JaVA_Platypus
04-15-2011, 02:15 PM
Hi guys,

I am a fan of the new sim, Il-2 Cliffs of Dover. There are still a few issues to be resolved, but underneath the mud of many small and smaller bugs, lies a real gem. When it runs properly, it will be two or three generations ahead of Il-2 1946! I am a natural bomber pilot, flying for the red side. So naturally, I should fly the Blenheim. Starting the engines takes a little attention, but isn't too difficult. Take-ing off however is far more difficult. On the internet, I found the pilot's manual for the Blenheim V, wich should have the same engines of the Blenheim IV in the game. In the PDF, at page 33, paragraph 9 it says:

9. TAKE-OFF
(i) There is a slight tendency to swing to the right

Well, the tendency to go to the right is pretty stong. It is not possible to counter this with the rudder, altough it helps of course. It is only possible to take off when engine 2 is running at its max (but don't do that for too long) and running engine 1 for about 40pct. With the reduced power, it will take a long time before the Blenheim reaches take-off speed. So I think there is some kind of bug involved that makes the airplane go to the right far too much. I hope it can be fixed.

242Sqn_Chap
04-16-2011, 02:13 PM
I have found exactly the same.

The only way to take off seems to be to run engine 1 at about 30% and 2 at full power or it swings to the right regardless of rudder.
Once airborne, changing to course pitch however, the engines revs do equalise and its Ok from then on. I havn't tried it yet but am wondering if Course pitch may help during take off also ?

Its difficult at the moment sometimes to know if something is a deliberate feature & is part of the difficult learning curve....or is a bug.

I am guessing that something may not be right here though ? (tail wheel misalignment? Torque error ?)