Fulqrum Publishing Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official Fulqrum Publishing forum > Fulqrum Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey

IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey Famous title comes to consoles.

Old 08-13-2009, 03:55 PM
Approved Member

Default FNG with an opinion.

Hello all:

I have been a long time lurker here and finally decided do post something as I have downloaded and played the game.

First of all I'll begin by saying that I am a pilot (well, used to be). I have logged over 300 hurs in the venerable PC-7 Pilatus and I have participated in many simulated dogfights. Also like many of you, I've been a PC gamer before Bruce Atwick's Flight Simulator was "Microsoft Flight Simulator".

Now, on to business:

The game is plain awesome. Period. You really cannot expect much more from a console with a game pad. The flight models are EXACTLY as I remember them from IL-2 for the PC. I was frustrated at first because my P-51 would not handle well a loaded reversal and the spitfire kept stalling under high G turns. But then I remembered that I've spent maybe way too much time in modern jet combat games (like Lock On) and got used to the furballs of jet era dogfights. I had to remind myself of "the good ol' days" when it actually took more than a sidewinder shot to kill a guy in front of you. I played always in simulator mode, in case you wonder.