Fulqrum Publishing Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official Fulqrum Publishing forum > Fulqrum Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik > Daidalos Team discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2012, 03:56 AM
Bearcat Bearcat is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern Va. by way of Da Bronx
Posts: 992
Default Hey TD can you look again at the Corsair..

Can you please look at the Corsairs again.. Is it possible that in the coding KPH was used for the speed.. because the top speed of the Corsair was over 400MPH @ 15000 ft.. and in this sim it barely gets over 400KPH at that altitude.. Is it possible that a mistake was made.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-24-2012, 06:04 PM
whiskey-charlie whiskey-charlie is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Default +1

+1

Mr. Hinton concurs

F4U Corsair was first military plane that could fly 400 mph on a straight line. See 10:30 mark on video..................



The best I can get on straight line is 250mph (which is in fact 402kph)

So either........

a) In game coding for US/mph instrument is reading kph units.

or

b) F4U's are governed to half speed. Which would explain why I have a hard time keeping up with my AI squad sometimes.

I set up a mission with 2 F4U-4Bs flying @15000 ft. (4572 meters) Player being the wingman to see if I could keep up with my leader...........

waypoint 1 following leader @ 100mph (160kph) no problem keeping up

waypoint 2 following leader @ 200mph (321kph) no problem keeping up with full throttle @ 110% and prop pitch @100%.

waypoint 3 following leader @ 300mph (482kph) can not keep up

waypoint 4 following leader @ 400mph (643kph) ......................

So this tells me that "b" is correct right? Player has govenor on his F4U?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-24-2012, 06:17 PM
JtD JtD is offline
Il-2 enthusiast & Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 903
Default

There are no F4U-4's in stock game. F4U-1's perform properly, just got one up to 400mph @ 15000feet. This is about 275 knots indicated air speed on the in cockpit dial, which appears to be fairly accurate. You need to be in second charger gear (i.e. low blower) to achieve that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2012, 06:47 PM
whiskey-charlie whiskey-charlie is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Default More test..............

ok, will use stock F4U-1A and super charger. Position 1 is neutral, 2 is low and 3 is high blower right?

Am now looking at http://www.wwiiaircraftperformance.org/f4u/f4u.html See "Maximum true air speed using military rated power" and "Full report" for F4U true air speeds.

@5,900 ft using nuetral blower I should get a max air speed of 343mph (552km/h) ok, IL2 test results: Flying stock F4U-1A, 5900ft (1798m), 108%Power(WEP), 100%Prop Pitch, Mixture lean, neutral blower, I was able to reach Max air speed of 329mph (530km/h)
So, was better, but still 14 mph under what the Neil Stirling summery said I should be getting.

Tried another..... @22,800ft (6949 meters) using high blower I should have a maximum of 395mph (635km/h) ok, IL2 test result: was able to reach Max air speed of 298mph (480km/h)[/I]
Result, not so good, was 97mph under what the F4U-1A should be capable of.

Jtd, if you have time check these to see if you show different.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2013, 07:41 AM
JtD JtD is offline
Il-2 enthusiast & Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 903
Default

What gauge are you looking at? The only valid one for speed figures is the big yellow gauge you get in cockpit off mode, as it's the only one to show the true air speed.

You should also always use 110% power for maximum speed, even if the real plane has slightly different manifold pressure limits for the various charger gears. Il-2 does not support a behaviour like this, so you'll see only one maximum boost figure on the cockpit gauge. But I'd expect the impact to be only small.

I've attached the il2-compare data for version 4.11.1. Blue is the F4U-1, which is in game used for the Corsair I, red is the F4U-1A, used for the F4U-1A, also representative for the Corsair II. The difference is the water injection. Both curves are for fully loaded aircraft. These speeds are valid for the Crimea map. I've been able to confirm these in game numerous times.

The figures you linked are not for a fully loaded aircraft, so if you want to re-test, I suggest a fuel load of 30% with default loadout for best approximation of real life test conditions, but again this will probably just make a difference of very few mph.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg f4uspeeds.jpg (139.8 KB, 26 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2013, 12:06 PM
TheGrunch's Avatar
TheGrunch TheGrunch is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 843
Default

As JtD says:
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskey-charlie View Post
a) In game coding for US/mph instrument is reading IAS.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2013, 01:20 PM
Bearcat Bearcat is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern Va. by way of Da Bronx
Posts: 992
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JtD View Post
What gauge are you looking at? The only valid one for speed figures is the big yellow gauge you get in cockpit off mode, as it's the only one to show the true air speed.

You should also always use 110% power for maximum speed, even if the real plane has slightly different manifold pressure limits for the various charger gears. Il-2 does not support a behaviour like this, so you'll see only one maximum boost figure on the cockpit gauge. But I'd expect the impact to be only small.

I've attached the il2-compare data for version 4.11.1. Blue is the F4U-1, which is in game used for the Corsair I, red is the F4U-1A, used for the F4U-1A, also representative for the Corsair II. The difference is the water injection. Both curves are for fully loaded aircraft. These speeds are valid for the Crimea map. I've been able to confirm these in game numerous times.

The figures you linked are not for a fully loaded aircraft, so if you want to re-test, I suggest a fuel load of 30% with default loadout for best approximation of real life test conditions, but again this will probably just make a difference of very few mph.
Thanks guys I'll have a look at that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2013, 05:36 PM
fruitbat's Avatar
fruitbat fruitbat is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: S E England
Posts: 1,065
Default

If i had a pound for every time people say planes are under performing because they don't know the diff between IAS and TAS regarding top speeds, I could of funded CLOD myself
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2013, 06:40 PM
JtD JtD is offline
Il-2 enthusiast & Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 903
Default

True, but then it's hardly common knowledge...so in some ways, this forum can be educating.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2013, 07:08 PM
Mysticpuma's Avatar
Mysticpuma Mysticpuma is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromsgrove, UK
Posts: 1,059
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fruitbat View Post
If i had a pound for every time people say planes are under performing because they don't know the diff between IAS and TAS regarding top speeds, I could of funded CLOD myself

I'll see your IAS/TAS and raise you .50 Calibre's! I'd be able to fund BoS too!
__________________
http://i41.tinypic.com/2yjr679.png
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 Fulqrum Publishing. All rights reserved.