Fulqrum Publishing Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official Fulqrum Publishing forum > Fulqrum Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik > Daidalos Team discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2011, 07:55 AM
greybeard1's Avatar
greybeard1 greybeard1 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 123
Default F6F-3 Late armament in 4.10.1

Good morning to all!

No matter which is the kind of mission, Hellcat gets always six rockets and a 1000 lb bomb.

Could it be fixed?

Thanks,
GB

P.S.: if this may help, career is US Navy Fighter and squadron VF-3 Lexington.

Last edited by greybeard1; 09-29-2011 at 07:58 AM. Reason: added post scriptum
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2011, 08:26 AM
Juri_JS Juri_JS is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 154
Default

The problem is caused by an error in the DGen.exe file and affects both the F6F-3 and the F6F-5. I doubt that it will be possible for Team Daidalos to fix the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2011, 03:25 PM
greybeard1's Avatar
greybeard1 greybeard1 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 123
Default

Thanks Juri!

It's a pity, though.

S!
GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2011, 06:40 PM
HarryM HarryM is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 31
Default

If you find PacificPlanes.dat and search through it you can find lines such as:

Allies USA CBomber F6F3 390 500 500 1x10006xhvarap 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F3 390 500 500 1x10006xhvargp 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F3 390 500 500 1x1000 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F3 390 500 500 2x5006xhvarap 1
Allies USA CFighter F6F3 390 4000 4000 default 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F5 390 500 500 1x10006xhvarap 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F5 390 500 500 1x10006xhvargp 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F5 390 500 500 1x1000 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F5 390 500 500 2x5006xhvarap 1
Allies USA CFighter F6F5 390 4000 4000 default 1


I think it is just taking the first one from the list, so CBomber type mission will always load first selection. You can change all to be the loadout you want, or just delete the extra CBomber lines and leave the one you want.

You can use this technique to change loadout of He-111 for example to carry larger bombs instead of the small "scatter" bomb they always carry otherwise.

Are your guys trying to dogfight while carrying rockets? IIRC, I changed the loadout for exactly that reason.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-06-2011, 11:11 AM
Juri_JS Juri_JS is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 154
Default

HarryM is right, the problem is not caused by the DGen.exe file (sorry for the mistake), but by an error in the PacificPlanes.dat file.

Replacing the US F6F3/F6F5 entries in the PacificPlanes.dat file with the following lines should fix the problem:

Allies USA CFighter F6F3 390 4000 4000 default 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F3 390 500 500 1x10006xhvarap 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F3 390 500 500 1x10006xhvargp 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F3 390 500 500 1x1000 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F3 390 500 500 2x5006xhvarap 1
Allies USA Fighter F6F3 390 4000 4000 default 1
Allies USA FBomber F6F3 390 500 500 1x10006xhvarap 1
Allies USA FBomber F6F3 390 500 500 1x10006xhvargp 1
Allies USA FBomber F6F3 390 500 500 1x1000 1
Allies USA FBomber F6F3 390 500 500 2x5006xhvarap 1
Allies USA CFighter F6F5 390 4000 4000 default 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F5 390 500 500 1x10006xhvarap 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F5 390 500 500 1x10006xhvargp 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F5 390 500 500 1x1000 1
Allies USA CBomber F6F5 390 500 500 2x5006xhvarap 1
Allies USA Fighter F6F5 390 4000 4000 default 1
Allies USA FBomber F6F5 390 500 500 1x10006xhvarap 1
Allies USA FBomber F6F5 390 500 500 1x10006xhvargp 1
Allies USA FBomber F6F5 390 500 500 1x1000 1
Allies USA FBomber F6F5 390 500 500 2x5006xhvarap 1

And here the correct entries for the British F6F3/F6F5:

Allies England CFighter F6F3 390 4000 4000 default 1
Allies England CBomber F6F3 390 500 500 1x10006xhvarap 1
Allies England CBomber F6F3 390 500 500 1x10006xhvargp 1
Allies England CBomber F6F3 390 500 500 1x1000 1
Allies England CBomber F6F3 390 500 500 2x5006xhvarap 1
Allies England CFighter F6F5 390 4000 4000 default 1
Allies England CBomber F6F5 390 500 500 1x10006xhvarap 1
Allies England CBomber F6F5 390 500 500 1x10006xhvargp 1
Allies England CBomber F6F5 390 500 500 1x1000 1
Allies England CBomber F6F5 390 500 500 2x5006xhvarap 1

Last edited by Juri_JS; 10-06-2011 at 02:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-06-2011, 03:13 PM
HarryM HarryM is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 31
Default

One other thing I did was raise the cruise height on attack missions from 500 to something higher like 3000, that way if you run into enemies you aren't at such a height disadvantage. the Hellcat is, to put it mildly, "disappointing" in Il-2 compared to historically, so you need to try to compensate.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2011, 11:32 AM
greybeard1's Avatar
greybeard1 greybeard1 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 123
Default

Thanks a lot for info and suggestions on how to fix!

S!
GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-14-2011, 08:28 AM
greybeard1's Avatar
greybeard1 greybeard1 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 123
Default

Just to say that I tested in two different USN careers (US Navy Fighter and Carrier Air Group Fighter) and it works! Weapon load is now Default (if a bombing mission is not picked by DGen, of course).

Thanks again,
GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2012, 04:54 AM
Luno13 Luno13 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 370
Default

Sorry to dig up an old thread, but I was wondering what the altitude values are for. Cruise? Attack? CAP? Are the airspeeds true or indicated?

Also, will adding new planes to the list allow DGEN to spawn them in missions?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-20-2012, 03:51 AM
WTE_Galway WTE_Galway is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luno13 View Post
Also, will adding new planes to the list allow DGEN to spawn them in missions?
Yes and No.

You can add planes which are relevant to the theater and available in other DGEN campaigns within that theater of operation, even if they are missing from the particular campaign being edited. For example you could add the Seafire (available in Pacific campaigns) to a Pacific campaign that previously only offered Wildcats.

What you cannot do in most cases is cross theaters of operation. Adding the bf109 to a Pacific campaign will likely fail. Similarly attempting to fly zeroes over Stalingrad is unlikely to work.

I think DGEN uses different basic plane sets for FB and PF campaigns.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 Fulqrum Publishing. All rights reserved.