Fulqrum Publishing Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official Fulqrum Publishing forum > Fulqrum Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik

IL-2 Sturmovik The famous combat flight simulator.

Old 01-02-2008, 02:20 AM
Approved Member

Default 4.09 Dedicated Server Security & Distribution

Hi,

I am a server admin / map-maker for an online server. As this is my first post here I would first like to thank Oleg and his team (workers and volunteers) for the exceptional sim we have enjoyed for many years. I have played the game for hundreds of hours and enjoy it very much. As we have nearly a year to go (?) before SoW it is important to keep the online game alive. Like many others I was hoping that 4.09 would close the door on the hackers at least for the online game. I have a few suggestions:

I have been watching the debate over the hacks for some weeks now. The division in the IL2 community seems to be between those who want to play 'hack-free' online, and the rest: those who want to play online or offline with hacks or mods. Both parties would be content if there was a dedicated server available that could exclude those with modified files from playing online.

If 1C does not have the resources to produce a new dedicated server application that gives greater security, I suggest that you ask trusted third parties to volunteer their time to repackage the current version and add some additional security functionality. You may also wish to make the dedicated server only available with a new EULA that clearly makes it a breach of your copyright to alter the code or delete the new security functionality. As a server admin and map maker, I would rather wait and get a dedicated server that keeps out hackers, than play 4.09 online next week with a dedicated server that doesn't keep them out.