Fulqrum Publishing Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official Fulqrum Publishing forum > Fulqrum Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2011, 09:26 AM
Mysticpuma's Avatar
Mysticpuma Mysticpuma is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromsgrove, UK
Posts: 1,059
Default Will CoD make use of Nvidia Cuda or Physx? Not sure if detail has been released?

Pretty much sums up the question.

I understand it is DirectX 10 but wonder if it will also be Cuda/Physx enabled too?

I'm currently between getting a ATI 6950 or an Nvidia Frozr 560 Ti and the information would help in the decision.

Cheers, MP
__________________
http://i41.tinypic.com/2yjr679.png
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2011, 09:57 AM
Tvrdi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I doubt...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2011, 11:10 AM
ghodan ghodan is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 102
Default

My gues is: No it wont.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2011, 11:14 AM
Tree_UK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I very much doubt it also. I was considering using one of my GTX285's as a dedicated physics card and then getting a GTX580 for the main card, but by all accounts there wont be any advantage to this, i dont think physics were around when this game began development.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2011, 11:21 AM
Flanker35M Flanker35M is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,806
Default

S!

There has been no mention of CUDA or PhysX at all in ANY information from Oleg & Team. And frankly, that is a good thing NOT to have this included..Not another "one trick poney" like IL-2 Sturmovik was and still is favoring NV hardware. DirectX where both brands do just fine Rest up to the driver teams how well they get their job done.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2011, 12:36 PM
Mysticpuma's Avatar
Mysticpuma Mysticpuma is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromsgrove, UK
Posts: 1,059
Default

Hi Flanker.

I understand your POV as Nvidia were the main target for IL2 years ago, I was just interested as it is now getting to the time where I am updating my card (with a £200 budget) and I have to way up;

Nvidia 560 - Pretty much as-fast as the 6950 but draws more power and uses mini HDMI, but does have Cuda and PhysX + 3D for a later date

ATI - Full-size HDMI, Multi-screen, Less Power draw (so good for Crossfire)

I'm edging the 560 anyway, but wondered if it would be utilised to the max with the extra Processing Power it has?

Cheers, MP
__________________
http://i41.tinypic.com/2yjr679.png
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-28-2011, 12:44 PM
BRIGGBOY BRIGGBOY is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brigg in Lincolnshire
Posts: 275
Default

if cuda and physx are not included then why not go with the 6950 and flash the BIOS to get 6970 performance.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-28-2011, 02:01 PM
Heliocon Heliocon is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 651
Default

Cuda yes becuase you have to use cuda to support the cards I believe (thats how they operate). Physx is different and is a nvidia specific program and I havent heard of it being supported.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-28-2011, 02:38 PM
louisv's Avatar
louisv louisv is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 287
Default

What would you do with PhysX in a flight simulator ?

PhysX ensures that eventually all games will feel and look alike...

i.e: If you use it for fabric, it will be the same look and feel as all other games that use PhysX...

Anyway the only thing i can see is more fragments coming out of explosion...frankly it just isn't worth it.

My two cents...

PS: Cuda is another story.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-28-2011, 03:07 PM
Il2Pongo Il2Pongo is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 88
Default

in that Aerodynamics is a branch of physics, its not that far fetched that an optimized physics processor could improve the game if it was written to actually calculate such things as the flight dynamics based on some super precision definition of the characteristics of each aircraft and track it as it changes deforms etc.
Ballistics is also a branch of physics.

But if you can make the game with tables defining each aircraft in a way that is indistinguishable from the physics calculating version it is much easier to develop and control. That is what has been done here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 Fulqrum Publishing. All rights reserved.