Fulqrum Publishing Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official Fulqrum Publishing forum > Fulqrum Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2011, 06:46 PM
Damixu Damixu is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 128
Lightbulb Tablet PC for display gauges and control knobs & switches

Here's an idea for some tablet PC (preferably Android OS) and IL2 DeviceLink interface savvy coder to enhance IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover's immersion.

Display aircraft gauges on tablet PC
Create a software for displaying aircraft (and other future vehicles) gauges and also user controllable functionality to setup own layout of gauges for each aircraft/vehicle type. Also access to map would be nice to see on tablet PC display too.

Control umm.... aircraft controls with touch screen
Because those tablet PCs are equiped with touch screens, naturally all kinds of knobs, levers, buttons, switches etc. can be controled from the same gauge interface. (This might need new 2-way DeviceLink version from Maddox Games or tablet PC could just send keyboard key presses, joystick axis movements, etc. if applicable)

Multi-tablet PC setup for gauges and controls
Those android based tablet PCs are quite cheap and getting cheaper all the time, so naturally cabability to setup multi-tablet gauge displays & controls are well with in reach for most enthustiasts in the near future I hope.

I think tablet PCs are equiped with WiFi connection so it is very easy to setup your own personal "cockpit" around your existing PC monitor, desktop, joystick/HOTAS setup.

Here's my 2 cents... times 10 000 000 IL-2: COD copies sold.

Last edited by Damixu; 02-08-2011 at 06:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2011, 07:13 PM
AndyJWest AndyJWest is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,049
Default

DeviceLink is 2-way already, so this sounds feasible enough. For maximum cross-platform portability, I'd think that it would be best to work in Java. We'll have to see what interface is offered though - there may be better ways to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2011, 08:54 PM
Chivas Chivas is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,769
Default

The most immersive option is to use the already available outstanding cockpit in COD.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2011, 09:17 PM
Flying Pencil Flying Pencil is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 403
Default

I agree with OP, use Tablet computers for additional access, like in game maps!

I would not ignore the iPad for this purpose.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2011, 09:40 PM
kingpinda kingpinda is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 184
Default

I'll be using a 19 inch flatpanel which i modded with a chinese touchscreen kit. This in combination with touchbuddy works excellent in DCS blackshark. No doubt it will work in Cliffs of Dover also.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-18-2011, 05:01 PM
Tex-Twil Tex-Twil is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 63
Default

Hello,
Do you know if CoD support the DeviceLink input ?

Last edited by Tex-Twil; 04-18-2011 at 06:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-18-2011, 07:57 PM
squidgyb's Avatar
squidgyb squidgyb is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 71
Default

+1ing this so much. At the very least it'd give me an excuse to go out and buy a tablet
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-01-2011, 08:58 AM
Tex-Twil Tex-Twil is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 63
Default

Hi,
I'm currently working on such an application for iOS / Il2 1946. See this post.

I hope that CoD will open an API so that the app can work also with CoD.


tex
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-01-2011, 09:16 AM
Skoshi Tiger Skoshi Tiger is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

After using DCS A10 multi screen support, with the MFD's on a seperate monitor, I'ld prefer to see system like that.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-01-2011, 09:34 AM
Tex-Twil Tex-Twil is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skoshi Tiger View Post
After using DCS A10 multi screen support, with the MFD's on a seperate monitor, I'ld prefer to see system like that.

Cheers!
I think there are already some tools which allows you have the gauges on another computer/monitor.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 Fulqrum Publishing. All rights reserved.