Fulqrum Publishing Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official Fulqrum Publishing forum > Fulqrum Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2011, 05:16 PM
ytareh ytareh is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 86
Default Dot Visibility in COD and Other Flight ims.

Its fairly well known that in IL2 its waaaay harder to see 'dots' (distant planes) at higher resolutions .I play exclusively at 1024x768 online as I simply am not competitive at higher res.I cant even see planes take off from airfields directly below me at 1km alt or less at higher res.Needless to say Im acutely aware this is kinda a crying shame on a screen with a 2560x1600 native resolution!My question is will COD be the exact same .Is this a game engine issue or simply due to the number of dots used to show distant planes and 'pixel size'?
{Im also aware that the 'pixel density' on monitors affects this ie a 'dot' on a 17inch 1280x1024 will be harder to see than a 19 inch 1280x1024 as pixels are 'clumped' closer together and hence smaller }
Id appreciate some sound advice on this topic as I wont have any need to upgrade if its the exact same I reckon...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2011, 05:43 PM
Royraiden Royraiden is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 531
Default

What do you mean you are not competitive at higher res?You have a 2500x1600 resolution monitor and you are playing at 1024x768?What?Why?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-29-2011, 05:50 PM
Gromic's Avatar
Gromic Gromic is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Default

Probably for the same reason that I have my 24" scaled down when flying online and don't use native res. Dots are hard as hell to see the higher the resolution is set and I ain't getting any younger

Offline is a different matter.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-29-2011, 05:55 PM
David603 David603 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: 6'clock high
Posts: 713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Royraiden View Post
What do you mean you are not competitive at higher res?You have a 2500x1600 resolution monitor and you are playing at 1024x768?What?Why?
Playing at a lower resolution than your screen is designed for causes the dot that represents a plane at long range to appear bigger.

For example, if you had a screen that displayed at 2000x1200 (not a real resolution), and you used that setting, a plane at the extreme distance of visibility will appear as 1 pixel on your screen. If you lower the resolution to 1000x600, the plane will appear at the same distance, but it will now be represented by 2x2 pixels, because your screen is adapting to the lower resolution and magnifying the number of pixels input by 2x2.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-29-2011, 05:57 PM
Qpassa's Avatar
Qpassa Qpassa is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Valladolid-Spain-EU
Posts: 700
Default

Its sad to have a new PC and use 1024x768, I use native resolution, I hope if I do the same in COD I wont have any disadvantage
Some official answer would be great
__________________
Expecting:
Call of Duty

Youtube Profile: http://www.youtube.com/user/E69Qpassa

Last edited by Qpassa; 01-29-2011 at 06:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2011, 06:07 PM
Chivas Chivas is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,769
Default

I agree, and have to fly at 1024x768 online to see the dots. Even then I have people calling out boogies I never see. Hopefully the developers will render dots the same size at different resolutions, but I'm not sure how much work that is or if its even possible.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2011, 06:22 PM
David603 David603 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: 6'clock high
Posts: 713
Default

Technically it is quite possible, it is simply a matter of programming the system to use an object instead of just a single pixel to represent distant aircraft.

Since the object will always be the same size, it will always occupy the same proportion of the screen, so if the screen size is the same, the object will be the same size, regardless of resolution. The only restriction is that the object must be big enough to appear as one pixel at max view distance on the lowest resolution supported by the game.

Unfortunately I'm not sure if Oleg is aware that people exploit the current system, because he was asked about it a while back and his reply was to the effect that he thought the pixel system was fair, and that it was always one pixel whatever the resolution.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-29-2011, 09:06 PM
Jabout Jabout is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Default

his reply was to the effect that he thought the pixel system was fair, and that it was always one pixel whatever the resolution

Hope not.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-29-2011, 09:21 PM
Royraiden Royraiden is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 531
Default

Thats the whole fun of spotting planes, it is so hard that when you spot one you feel good and do what you can to not loose it even for a second.Here's where Track Ir and Freetrack come in handy.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-29-2011, 09:25 PM
Luftwaffepilot Luftwaffepilot is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 153
Default

ah, and I though I am just too bad in IL-2.
Now I know it's due to my 1920x1080 resolution.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 Fulqrum Publishing. All rights reserved.