PDA

View Full Version : A word of warning

Ju-87
07-31-2009, 07:21 PM
I've been using my aviator quite regularly for about 4 months, and it broke down today. With a cracking sound I noticed it became very wobbly and that the twist rudder wouldn't work anymore.
After taking a look inside the joystick I noticed what may be a slight design flaw. It's hard to explain without any pictures, but I will give it a shot.

The aviator handle, as you might have figured out, is a 2-piece affair. First there is the stick that connects to the base,
and then there is the grip that sits on top of the stick. The problem lies in how the stick and grip connect and interact.

The stick on which the grip handle itself rests, has a crescent shaped tip.
The tip connects to a spring-loaded, rotatable recess mounted inside the grip. This is the rudder control.

The problem is that between the sides of grip and stick there's a gap by a couple of millimeters.
So instead of the stick being totally enclosed by the grip and distributing the pressure evenly, all pressure is put on the crescent tip within the grip.
I've noticed that pulling the stick 8 or 4 o' clock towards you puts more stress on it than anything else and might break it. On my joystick, it was snapped clean off.

I'm not saying that your aviator will break, but it might be good to know it's weaknesses.
I recommend you to remove the grip and tape the upper part of the stick so that the gap is reduced (maybe lube it too so twisting doesn't become hard).
This should distribute the pressure better.

I will try to take some pictures of it and maybe figure out a potential fix (superglue hasn't worked).

xNikex
07-31-2009, 07:30 PM
Hmm...that sucks. Do you think you will get your money back because of the flaw?

Ju-87
07-31-2009, 07:45 PM
Maybe, but since I bought it from abroad it's probably easier/cheaper to try to fix it myself...

xNikex
07-31-2009, 07:50 PM