PDA

View Full Version : Mod Request: Font

Pyros_IT
05-10-2009, 02:04 PM
So I've played both the Atari and the Nobilis version of the game, having bought the latter. But Atari's one has a much nicer in-game font. Would it be possible to make a mod substituting the font of the N version for the A version?

cheers

Keneth
05-10-2009, 11:07 PM
I wasn't aware there was any such difference. The font type and size are defined in LNG template files iirc, perhaps if you compared those, it might be as simple as replacing some text if both fonts are included in the game, or simpler still if the fonts are actually saved as files, in which case you could just replace/switch those.

Pyros_IT
05-11-2009, 01:18 PM
I'm sorry, I have zero experience modding and pretty much all you just said is greek to me. Is there some kind of modders manual?

tks for the patience

Keneth
05-11-2009, 08:37 PM
I think there should be a couple of threads around that explain the basics but this isn't exactly a huge endeavour, browse through the KFS files (with WinRAR or 7-zip) and see if you can find any font files (they'll probably have a TTF extension or something). You'll find the KFS archives in data and session/base folders.

If that fails then search for a file called templates.lng (the interface mod modifies it, so you'll want to edit that one if you're using it) and scroll through the formatting code, or compare it to the file from the other version to see what's different, and modify it.

But it's also entirely possible that the fonts are compressed inside system files like the main executable, in which case changing them would get rather bothersome.

If you think you can't do some of these things then I suggest you wait around to see if someone who can strolls along. But there's not much activity around here anymore, it might flare back up once the expansion gets released to the rest of the world...

Sorry I can't be of more help.

McGuire
03-25-2012, 10:51 PM