PDA

View Full Version : How to create/use a mod?

bman654
09-26-2008, 03:34 PM
I made a mod to get rid of that annoying sound when you dig and don't find anything because I like to hit D alot while travelling. But I am editing the main .KFS files. I'm not sure how to package it up for other people.

From what I can tell from looking at some of the Russian mods, you put your modified files in a .kfs file in the data\mods folder. Is that all there is to it? Does it require starting a new game or will it work on existing savegames?

Amamake
09-26-2008, 07:46 PM
Is that all there is to it? Does it require starting a new game or will it work on existing savegames?

I'm no expert on this, but the only mod I've ever installed (http://kingsbounty.ru/mods/1.6.4/mod_164_Training_camp.zip) didn't require restarting. It adds item to your inventory in about 10 seconds after you load any save state.

pkt-zer0
09-27-2008, 12:21 AM
From what I can tell from looking at some of the Russian mods, you put your modified files in a .kfs file in the data\mods folder. Is that all there is to it? Does it require starting a new game or will it work on existing savegames?
That's all there is to it, it seems. In some cases, the changes are not effective on existing savegames (though just going to another map might enable them - can't try that in the demo), in other cases they are. Easiest way to test is starting up a new game without the mod, save, add the mod, reload, see what happens.

stalazon
09-27-2008, 02:20 PM
Excellent mod. I'd like to take it a step further in my own game by removing the sounds that certain troops make during battles that I personally find really obnoxious (i.e. shaman's grunts and barbarian's axe on shield slam.), especially since they do it throughout the entire battle every couple seconds.