PDA

View Full Version : Track IR5 vs Freetrack.

Bokononist
11-07-2011, 05:52 PM
I've been running with Freetrack for a few months now, but I'm finding that I have to change the profile all the time to compensate for varying lighting conditions, how low my battery pack is running etc. Plus I have to delete a dll everytime I want to play Dirt 2 or F1 2010 or they won't even launch.
My question is aimed at anyone who has used both systems, how much better is TrackIR 5 than Freetrack?

Foo'bar
11-07-2011, 06:02 PM
TrackIR is expensive but it simply works. Well, that's the reason why it is expensive plus theres no competitors.

How I wish that Saitek e.g. was building a head tracker :(

But until that day take TrackIR. Forget Freetrack. I've tested them both.

MadBlaster
11-07-2011, 06:08 PM
Freetrack is better. I never have to touch my profile. My hat plugs into usb port, so no worries about battery. You could also make a hat to plug into a wall socket if you wanted to do that. If your room lighting varies, I suspect you will have problems with either system. Instead of fixing the profile all the time, fix your room. Put some window blinds up or something.

Dano
11-07-2011, 06:14 PM
If your room lighting varies, I suspect you will have problems with either system.

I have no issues with TIR ever and I fly in all lighting conditions, daylight, artificial and darkness, not once have I ever had to adjust my profile to suit as TIR continues to work flawlessly in each case.

How can you state that freetrack is better when you have never used TIR?

MadBlaster
11-07-2011, 06:19 PM
I have no issues with TIR ever and I fly in all lighting conditions, daylight, artificial and darkness, not once have I ever had to adjust my profile to suit as TIR continues to work flawlessly in each case.

Try lighting yourself on fire. I bet it doesn't work so well then.;)

Dano
11-07-2011, 06:20 PM
Try lighting yourself on fire. I bet it doesn't work so well then.;)

:rolleyes:

Continu0