PDA

View Full Version : 1.03.15527 system performance reports

jimbop
09-07-2011, 10:08 AM
In short, I get a 10% framerate reduction with the beta patch. If you are going to post your feedback here please:

1. Add your system specs to your signature.
2. Make sure you have cleared the cache before testing (see here (http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showpost.php?p=332226&postcount=65)).

There have been a lot of comments about framerate drops with 1.03.15527 beta. Smooth performance is one of my biggest concerns (I actually thought the cockpit sounds were fine as they were :)) so I compare results after each patch.

I like the new colours and appreciate the patch but it is important to note that this patch HAS resulted in a significant performance hit as you can see below.

The below are in triplicate (yes, I'm a scientist!) although this is not necessary given the tight results. Results are before and after patch, vsync on and off with the following video settings. I used FRAPS to measure the first 60 seconds of a low-level Dover dogfight test track attached to this post:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6187/6123012085_82aca1b95d_z.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/61319592@N06/6123012085/)

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6210/6123476384_6a5c66d4a8_b.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/61319592@N06/6123476384/)

Comments:
- I think the most important column is the minimums given that a reasonable average with low minimums can result in stuttering and lags.
- Gameplay is smooth without stutters on my system UNTIL a lot of planes appear. Then I get significant input lag (reported here (http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=23801&page=2) and here (http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=20232)) which is annoying.
- Given that I only play with vsync due to atrocious tearing this performance drop is fine for me.

Vengeanze
09-07-2011, 10:30 AM
Jimbo, did you defrag the game files from the Steam menu?
Didn't help me but might help you.

jimbop
09-07-2011, 10:32 AM