PDA

View Full Version : STEAM NOOB Needs help

Caveman
08-21-2011, 04:00 PM
PEr subject... I've been an ardent supporter of the IL-2 series and got many great years of enjoyment out of the sim.

I've been out of simming for about 4 years but I'm getting ready to come back in...

I want to pay a "good" price for COD despite the complaints it's not done, etc... I'm confident it will be the best WWII offering for years to come as the developers have already made great strides in a few short months...

All that said, I'm a noob at steam and have no idea how it works... My main concern is that if I buy the game now, can I keep the download code around forever to download it when I want instead of "now"?

I'm on the Ubisoft website (using a birthday coupon for $10 off) and it implies that software will be installed on the machine I download from etc...

Ideally, I just want to buy the right to download it now and then download it later on the machine of choice, etc... And what if I switch PCs? Then What?

Can anyone guide me along on what to do in this situation?

NedLynch
08-21-2011, 07:22 PM
Sorry I don't have a direct answer to that question, I bought the game from Steam and the way it works there is once you have it it's registered and even if you uninstall it/want to install it on a different comp later it's always there for you.
On a different comp all that matters is that you have to install the steam client there too of course and log into your steam account and all your games will be in your library to redownload on your new comp.
I would suggest contacting Steam support with this particular situation since you are buying the game from ubisoft directly, but since you purchased it, it is yours.