PDA

View Full Version : does overclocking really pay off

Flyby
05-17-2011, 12:49 AM
I have n't paid a lot of attention to it here, so I'm asking. I see some guys are above 4ghz with their processors. From what I've read around the net, the payoff at that speed is not very much for games anyway. Other tasks, maybe. Anyone seen any different? Curious about this sim specifically.
thanks,
Flyby out

White Owl
05-17-2011, 02:55 AM
I'm a total newbie to overclocking... just tried it out for the first time last weekend. Took my processor from stock 3.2 GHz to 3.6 GHz very easily, and nothing bad happened to my computer. Tried to go up one more notch to 3.7 and saw my first BSOD. So I'm sticking to 3.6 GHz for now while I educate myself some more.

Ingame, I noticed the slow parts of the Black Death track ran a whopping 3 fps faster. No perceptible difference while actually playing. So my very limited experience so far is that it doesn't actually pay off. Maybe some more experienced overclockers will know better.

Oldschool61
05-17-2011, 03:30 AM
I'm a total newbie to overclocking... just tried it out for the first time last weekend. Took my processor from stock 3.2 GHz to 3.6 GHz very easily, and nothing bad happened to my computer. Tried to go up one more notch to 3.7 and saw my first BSOD. So I'm sticking to 3.6 GHz for now while I educate myself some more.

Ingame, I noticed the slow parts of the Black Death track ran a whopping 3 fps faster. No perceptible difference while actually playing. So my very limited experience so far is that it doesn't actually pay off. Maybe some more experienced overclockers will know better.

You wont get huge improvments just a few percent here and there. Video card OC is the lowest usually so its almost worthless, you just burn up your graphics chip sooner. With video you get best improvement by going up in gpu class.

janpitor
05-17-2011, 08:10 AM