PDA

View Full Version : Sleep mode killing periphials

timholt
05-01-2011, 11:35 AM
I am new to Win7 and have not come across this before.
Whenever sleep mode is activated I lose most (but not all) of the use of the buttons on the CH products joystick, throttle, rudder pedals, TIR and some keystroke functions on the keyboard.
This requires a restart to get them all working again.
Is there a setting somewhere in Win7 that would be causing this or is it likely to be a hardware malfunction somewhere?
It happens on both flight sims (Rise of Flight and IL2 Cliffs of Dover) so I don't expect it is game related.
Also I have an Antec case that comes with 4 fans that don't shut down in sleep mode.
The obvious solution I guess is not to use sleep mode and just shut the computer down if it is not going to be used again for a while. It used to be that it was better to leave a computer running than starting it up more than once a day. Does this still hold true now with A SSD?

http://whrl.pl/RcJHlo
herring | anchor
Reply to this | Edit my post

huckster
05-01-2011, 12:50 PM
control panel/ power options/ change when your computer sleeps.

other than that take a look in your bios, you can change stuff in there too

Wolf_Rider
05-01-2011, 01:18 PM
go to the Device Manager and then to the USB Root Hub/ Properties and turn off the sleep functions there too. It will be labeled "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power"

timholt
05-01-2011, 11:20 PM
Thanks for the responses guys.
Wolf Rider I think you may have hit the nail on the head. I will try this later in the day and let you know if it works or not.

timholt
05-02-2011, 08:35 AM
Unfortunately it did not work. I think I will stop worrying about it and just not have it go to sleep mode at all. Sleep mode does not turn the 4 case fans off anyway, so it is only a partial sleep mode.
It is basically a computer for RoF and CoD and normally only gets flashed up for a daily session of a couple of hours or more.