PDA

View Full Version : Im a rookie, need help!!!

mcler002
04-09-2011, 10:19 AM
Hey all

I would welcome any and all tips to flying - especially about dogfights! My one main fail atm! As every time i seem to be the only muppet? who fly’s across the channel - a good 20 - 30 min trip as we all know to get the adv on an enemy fighter to either stall or/ and get shot down!!!

So please! Help a rookie :D

Pleaseeeeeeeee!

Cheers

Ross

MadTommy
04-09-2011, 10:25 AM
I'm also a rookie...

But a few things i've learnt.

Keep your energy up, either height or speed.
Don't become fixated on your target, its often not good to follow them into a dive. Often better to keep your height and eye on them and strike from above.
Only fire when you know you will hit your target.
Don't be afraid to break away from dogfight if you are being draw into fight where you don't have the advantage.
Pick off bombers on the edge of formations..and don't hang around to get shot by their tail gunners!

Hope this helps.. but i have a lot to learn myself!

mcler002
04-09-2011, 10:31 AM
Thanks

I would also like to invite anyone to add me on either steam or xfire... who enjoys the IL2 series and plays regularly... I definitely want to clock a few hours on this visually stunning game as long as there are enough people (and hopefully servers) to play it with!

‘Personal message’ me for my user name

Cheers

mcler002
04-09-2011, 11:15 AM
Cheers

MD_Wild_Weasel
04-09-2011, 11:34 AM
online dogfighting is probably the steepest learning curve a virtual pilot could ever encounter. I would consider leanring one "all rounder" plane like the spit and learn what the planes has to offer in the form of advantages/disadvantages. These are usually based on these deciding factors.
turn rate
Roll rate
climb
speed
dive rate.