PDA

View Full Version : Need help for ATI confi ini best settings


meplay
02-16-2011, 04:31 PM
I just want to know if i need to change anything :confused:

Here is my confi ini

[il2]
title=Il2-Sturmovik Forgotten Battles
hotkeys=HotKey game

[window]
width=1680
height=1050
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

[GLPROVIDER]
GL=Opengl32.dll

[GLPROVIDERS]
Open GL=Opengl32.dll
DirectX=dx8wrap.dll

[NET]
speed=8000
routeChannels=0
serverChannels=31
localPort=21000
remotePort=21000
SkinDownload=1
serverName=No Name
serverDescription=
remoteHost=204.80.88.43
localHost=78.144.146.22
socksHost=
checkServerTimeSpeed=1
checkClientTimeSpeed=0
remoteHost_000=204.80.88.43:21000
remoteHost_001=

[MaxLag]
farMaxLagTime=10.0
nearMaxLagTime=2.0
cheaterWarningDelay=5.0
cheaterWarningNum=-1

[chat]
region=(dx=0.9880952,dy=0.11523809,x=0.0,y=0.0)
adr0=ALL
msg0=<targets
adr2=To\u0020Server
adr1=MY_ARMY
msg1=<gunstat
msg2=<lives
msg3=<time

[game]
Arcade=0
HighGore=0
mapPadX=7.142857E-4
mapPadY=0.33333334
viewSet=49
Intro=0
NoSubTitles=0
NoChatter=0
NoHudLog=0
NoLensFlare=0
iconTypes=2
eventlog=eventlog.lst
eventlogkeep=0
3dgunners=1


[HotKey game]
PrintScreen=ScreenShot
P=pause
Pause=pause

[HotKey gui]
Escape=activate

[HookViewFly Config]
timeFirstStep=2.0
deltaZ=10.0

[HookView]
MouseLeft=Len

[HookView Config]
AzimutSpeed=0.1
TangageSpeed=0.1
LenSpeed=1.0
MinLen=1.0
DefaultLen=20.0
MaxLen=3000.0
Speed=6

[HotKey builder]
MouseLeft=objectMove
MouseRight=popupmenu
Enter=freeView
Shift MouseLeft=worldZoom
Alt MouseLeft=select+
Alt MouseRight=select-
Alt Ctrl=unselect
PageDown=change+
PageUp=change-
End=change++
Home=change--
Ctrl MouseLeft=insert+
Insert=insert+
NumPad-0=insert+
F=fill
Ctrl MouseRight=delete+
NumPad.=delete+
Delete=delete+
Backspace=cursor
Tab=cursor
F10=land
F11=onLand
NumPad-=normalLand
NumPad+=toLand
NumPad-5=resetAngles
NumPad-8=resetTangage90
NumPad-7=stepAzimut-5
NumPad-4=stepAzimut-15
NumPad-1=stepAzimut-30
NumPad-9=stepAzimut5
NumPad-6=stepAzimut15
NumPad-3=stepAzimut30

[MouseXYZ]
F1=SpeedSlow
F2=SpeedNormal
F3=SpeedFast
MouseRight=XYmove
F4 MouseRight=Zmove
MouseMiddle=Amove
F5 MouseRight=Amove
F6 MouseRight=Tmove
F7 MouseRight=Kmove

[MouseXYZ Config]
RealTime=1

[HotKey Console]
Shift Tab=Activate
[Console]
HISTORY=1024
HISTORYCMD=1024
LOAD=console.cmd
SAVE=console.cmd
LOG=0
LOGTIME=0
LOGFILE=log.lst
LOGKEEP=0

[sound]
SoundUse=1
SoundEngine=1
Speakers=0
Placement=0
SoundFlags.reversestereo=0
RadioFlags.Enabled=1
RadioEngine=2
MusicVolume=4
ObjectVolume=14
MusState.takeoff=1
MusState.inflight=1
MusState.crash=1
MusFlags.play=1
MasterVolume=14
Attenuation=7
SoundMode=1
SamplingRate=2
NumChannels=2
SoundExt.occlusions=0
SoundFlags.hardware=0
SoundFlags.streams=1
SoundFlags.duplex=1
SoundExt.acoustics=0
SoundExt.volumefx=0
SoundFlags.voicemgr=0
SoundFlags.static=1
VoiceVolume=14
Channels=2
SoundExt.extrender=0
SoundFlags.bugscorrect=0
SoundSetupId=9
ActivationLevel=0.02
Preemphasis=0.85
RadioLatency=0.5
AGC=1
PTTMode=1
SoundFlags.UseRadioChatter=0
SoundFlags.AutoActivation=0
RadioFlags.PTTMode=0
RadioFlags.PlayClicks=0
ActLevel=14
MicLevel=14
SoundFlags.forceEAX1=0

[rts]
;ProcessAffinityMask=1
mouseUse=2
joyUse=1
trackIRUse=1
DisableIME=0
locale=
JoyProfile=0

[rts_mouse]
SensitivityX=1.0
SensitivityY=1.0
Invert=0
SensitivityZ=1.0

[rts_joystick]
X=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Y=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
FF=1
U=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
V=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1X=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 0
1Y=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 0
1Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 0
1RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 0

[Render_DirectX]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=2
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=0
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=0
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=0
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=4

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=2
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=3
Water=2
Effects=1
ForceShaders1x=0

[QMB]
PlaneList=1

Kikuchiyo
02-16-2011, 05:46 PM
[GLPROVIDER]
GL=Opengl32.dll


If you are using an ati card you should be using directx and not opengl for your 3d rendering.

You should have posted this in Il-2 Sturmovik, not this subforum of it :D anyway gl hf in Sturmovik.

meplay
02-16-2011, 06:30 PM
oops thought i was lol, cos i keep jumping between forums, thanks il give it a wirl:)

Novotny
02-16-2011, 06:46 PM
Why would you use Direct X instead of OpenGL with an ATI card?

SEE
02-16-2011, 07:02 PM
I use OpenGL with ATI. For ATI I set anystring with suffix NV to 0.

meplay
02-16-2011, 07:04 PM
ok ta , il change it

=PF=Coastie
02-16-2011, 09:43 PM
If you are using an ati card you should be using directx and not opengl for your 3d rendering.

You should have posted this in Il-2 Sturmovik, not this subforum of it :D anyway gl hf in Sturmovik.


LOL, now thats a classic! Why would anyone ever think that?

Kikuchiyo
02-16-2011, 11:06 PM
LOL, now thats a classic! Why would anyone ever think that?

Look it up. It's a well known issue with ATI cards. They don't run Opengl well. If it runs fine for you awesome. At any rate I assumed he was on here because he was having graphic issues and I listed the most common problem with ATI cards.

SEE
02-16-2011, 11:37 PM
The following settings were posted by another member (sorry can't remember who for credit). It tallys with the recommended settings that I have seen for ATI cards but set the screen width/height to suit your monitor



[window]
width=1920
height=1080
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=0 (Solved, only needed for 16-bit color)
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=0 (Solved, only needed for StencilBits=0)
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=0
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1 (Solved, now works with ATI)
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1 (Solved, now works with ATI)
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=0

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=3
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=3
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=3
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=2
Effects=1 (Solved, = 2 not optimized)
ForceShaders1x=0

PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.0625
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

Novotny
02-17-2011, 12:07 AM
rofl - Coastie, who wrote many guides to setting up IL-2 for graphics cards, has just been told by some non-entity to 'look it up'.

Son, shut the hell up if you don't know what you're talking about or who you're talking to.

Edit:: Oh, and, welcome to the forum. Careful, some of us bite.

More Edit:: I'm being a w****r. Sorry to K for being rude, but you are wrong with your advice.

Kikuchiyo
02-17-2011, 12:13 AM
rofl - Coastie, who wrote many guides to setting up IL-2 for graphics cards, has just been told by some non-entity to 'look it up'.

Son, shut the hell up if you don't know what you're talking about or who you're talking to.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=279&threadid=108194 and a hundred more just like it. I do know what I am talking about. It's an issue they've had for a long time. Sorry if my polite but contradictory to apparently and esteemed member was being taken as rude or something.

Novotny
02-17-2011, 12:19 AM
I haven't fully read your link, but I'm sure Flanker, and possibly myself, is in there. We had dreadful issues with the tenth series of drivers, which are now not affecting IL-2 since ATI made corrections.

Again, sorry for being so rude to you.

Edit:: Neither of us are. Nevertheless, I would strongly encourage any ATI/AMD users to whack all gfx settings up to the max under OpenGL - apart from the particular nvidia settings, of course. Assuming you have a reasonably modern gfx card.

Kikuchiyo
02-17-2011, 12:31 AM
I haven't fully read your link, but I'm sure Flanker, and possibly myself, is in there. We had dreadful issues with the tenth series of drivers, which are now not affecting IL-2 since ATI made corrections.

Again, sorry for being so rude to you.

Edit:: Neither of us are. Nevertheless, I would strongly encourage any ATI/AMD users to whack all gfx settings up to the max under OpenGL - apart from the particular nvidia settings, of course. Assuming you have a reasonably modern gfx card.

Perhaps my information is out of date then. I knew it had been a cause of problems in the past. And just to be clear I am not a brand loyalist to either card manufacturer. Thank you for the apology Novotny.

SEE
02-17-2011, 12:32 AM
I didn't think you were being rude so wouldn't worry too much. I installed an ATI card at around the same time as Catalyst 10.8 was released and I think many of the past issues (ATI with Il2) were resolved. Put it down to a simple case of misunderstanding.

EDIT: just noticed you last posts and all are happy bunnies..........

Novotny
02-17-2011, 12:36 AM
Thank you See, but I was being a dick. As I explained to K privately, I had just come away from some very inflamatory arguments elsewhere on these here internets and took the attitude with me.

As someone who gets very angry about people being rude, I've clearly let myself down terribly. Oh well, I'm grateful the apology was accepted and I'll perhaps not completely finish this bottle of Scotch.

SEE
02-17-2011, 12:43 AM
on a scale of 1 to 10 regards insults, character bashing, etc (that some of our forum threads diintegrate into), your reply rates a meagre 1.........finish that bottle of Scotch, I bloody would! :grin:

BadAim
02-17-2011, 12:52 AM
In my experience those who admit to being w*****s rarely are, and those who mostly are rarely admit to anything, w*****s being what they are. Save some of the scotch for me.

=PF=Coastie
02-17-2011, 01:57 PM
Hey guys, I am sorry for the short quip earlier, But I was just floored at the response given and did not have time for an explanation. To me it was kind of like telling a guy who is looking for a Blue Mercedes to buy this Blue Yugo because they don't have any Blue Mercedes! As has been explained, it is usually a simple driver issue when there are problems like this and it can be fixed with various work arounds if a suitable driver is not available at the time.

I just hate someone giving extreme advice without knowing the full situation. It can lead to many other people flying this beautiful game in DX when it is not needed. You guys know how misinformation spreads around here.

Unfortunately, my inside contact (Terry Makedon) at ATI, has moved out of the driver department and is working elsewhere in ATI. So I hope we do not have any more backwards steps by the driver team!

SEE, If you need any further help, PM me and I will see what I can do. Flanker and Novotny are also very good helpers around here. I just do not get involved as much anymore due to lack of time.

meplay
02-17-2011, 05:08 PM
Hi Guys, i should have really explained more :/

I swapped a 4870 for my girlfriends 5770 and tried the 10.9 drivers on it but it was really bad so just put the latest drivers on, i also re installed my game from scratch and when i went to put my back up of my ini file in the game...well it looks like i deleted it :/ so tried it out from memory. I just wanted to make sure i had everything at there best settings.

Last time i read up about it was a long time ago, i think it was your posts actually Coastie on the ubi forums

Well the game runs ok, Thanks Guys

=PF=Coastie
02-17-2011, 05:18 PM
Here are my current settings with a 5770: Keep in mind that I try to find the best possible fps with eye candy that is suitable for my taste. Some people will be happy with much higher eye candy and less fps. It is all up to your taste and preference.

My current ATI CCC settings are: 4x AA (Box), Aniso is set to App pref (I use in game aniso), Cat AI OFF, MipMap high quality, Vsynch always ON, AA mode is Super Sampling, NO Triple Buffer.

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=0
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=0
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=1
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=3
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=8
Water=0
Effects=1
ForceShaders1x=0

PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.625
PolygonOffsetUnits=-1.0

Kikuchiyo
02-17-2011, 05:45 PM
I just hate someone giving extreme advice without knowing the full situation. It can lead to many other people flying this beautiful game in DX when it is not needed. You guys know how misinformation spreads around here.


I would hardly call it extreme advice. I wasn't incorrect in my advice, but I now know that there are solutions that let the game look prettier even if they are more time consuming. Never imagined that helping someone out would get so many personal attacks and over exaggerations thrown at me. As an aside I can up the pretty of my game too. Thanks for the advice, but next time don't over react so much.

meplay
02-17-2011, 05:57 PM
S! Coastie

That runs better now Thanks sir :)...time to back online :P

David603
02-18-2011, 02:57 PM
Given all the experts here, I was wondering what might cause gunfire and explosions to reflect a strong blue light, instead of a weaker yellow one when running OpenGL on the ATI card in my new laptop? I have tried running under DirectX and the problem goes away, but I would like to run Perfect mode.

Also, any advice on why my framerate is roughly halved on switching from external to internal views? Its still playable (rarely dips below 20fps) but the difference is quite noticeable, especially when flying over cities or with clouds/large numbers of aircraft.

Novotny
02-18-2011, 03:05 PM
The very same driver problem we mentioned earlier. You'll be wanting to try a newer driver. What card are you using?

David603
02-18-2011, 03:15 PM
Ati hd 3200.

Novotny
02-18-2011, 03:21 PM
Generally, I'd suggest using the newest one, however 10.8 was the driver iteration that got round the blue vertex problems.

Opinion is divided on whether or not one needs to completely uninstall ATI drivers now before sticking new ones in, but probably best to do it anyways.

See how you get on with that, and then try the config Coastie posted earlier.

Good luck!

Edit: Correction, it was actually 10.7 final which fixed it.

David603
02-18-2011, 03:28 PM
Thanks, I'll try that out.

=PF=Coastie
02-18-2011, 03:48 PM
And.....your fps being cut in half when in the cockpit may be due to Mirrors being on. Make sure mirrors are OFF, even in a plane without a mirror it may still cause the problem. So find a plane with a mirror (late model spit) and make sure mirror is off. If that is not it, then could be anything.

Note: Only toggle mirrors on when you need them(if that is the problem). I am not saying to never use them, just be aware they can affect fps when on.

Good luck!

David603
02-18-2011, 04:06 PM
Thanks, disabling the mirrors changes the cockpit fps from approx 50% of external to about 75%.

Could have really used this when I was first playing Il2 years ago on rubbish computers ;)

PS: Thanks Novotny, the driver update solved the blue light issue.

Novotny
02-18-2011, 05:29 PM
Good to hear.

meplay
02-20-2011, 11:23 AM
Coastie out of interest what drivers are you using with your 5770?

=PF=Coastie
02-20-2011, 04:00 PM
Coastie out of interest what drivers are you using with your 5770?

Currently using the 10.8's. I have had no reason to change as this is the only game I play right now. I do need to try the new ones though, just too lazy lately!

brando
02-20-2011, 08:17 PM
Yeah, the 11.2 drivers are good to go with the 5xxx series, with no nasty surprises. A new format for the CCC came in this year which is ok - and there are some tweaks in the Open GL apps that work quite well with my 5870, though I suspect they are more focussed on the 6xxx series that are coming through.
No reason not to update though - I recommend you do

regards

B

David603
02-20-2011, 08:20 PM
11.2 was the version I just downloaded, and which fixed the blue lights issue. I haven't seen any visual bugs since I started using it.

meplay
02-20-2011, 08:34 PM
I just had the 11.1 on but the shadows sometimes disappeared, just put the 10.8 on and they seem fine, will try the new 1s tomorrow :cool:

Novotny
02-20-2011, 08:45 PM
Oh that's interesting -I'd noticed the shadows issue myself. Do report on how the newer ones work out.

=PF=Coastie
02-21-2011, 12:08 AM
Yeah, the 11.2 drivers are good to go with the 5xxx series, with no nasty surprises. A new format for the CCC came in this year which is ok - and there are some tweaks in the Open GL apps that work quite well with my 5870, though I suspect they are more focussed on the 6xxx series that are coming through.
No reason not to update though - I recommend you do

regards

B

I took your advice and tried them Brando and....WOW! This is one of the biggest improvements in performance from a driver set in a long time. My average on BD track is now 91 with a low of 29. I also increased AA from 4x boxed Super Sampling to 4x edge detect super sampling with virtually no loss. Boxed is true 4x, where edge detect is 12x samples...amazing. I am also able to run with AI on and no loss. They must have been doing some optimizing with it.

I am also really liking the new CCC2. They have merged it with AMD Fusion and it is very intuitive.

Really liking this!