PDA

View Full Version : New Rig Options


PeterPanPan
02-02-2011, 02:04 PM
I'm sure many of us are considering upgrading or buying a new PC for CoD.

So, what would you choose?

PPanPan

pupaxx
02-02-2011, 02:22 PM
If my q6600 @3.0ghz should fail to run CoD (with a 8800gt video card), I'll consider the new i7 2600 3.4 Ghz, for a video card I'm oriented to purchase an Hd 6950 although I prefere Nvidia. At the same price Hd6950 (268€) is more powerful than GTX 560 (263€). GTX 570 would be my first choise but to much expensive 4me (358€). Prices are related to my reseller, I haven't done a market survey.
Ciao

Royraiden
02-02-2011, 02:22 PM
It really depends on how much are you willing to spend.A AMD cpu pc would certainly be cheaper and will perform similar to a intel cpu.Flagship Nvidia gpu's are faster than the faster ATI single gpu's but they are a bit more expensive.64bit OS if you intend to use more than 2gb of ram something you obviously would need to run this game.

swiss
02-02-2011, 03:10 PM
Are there any AM3 boards for SLI?

brando
02-02-2011, 03:52 PM
Are there any AM3 boards for SLI?

Could be coming out in March, nothing right now

swiss
02-02-2011, 03:55 PM
Could be coming out in March, nothing right now

The AM3+ plus boards?

=XIII=Shea
02-02-2011, 05:29 PM
I have a
i7 920
6 gig of ram
1tb HDD
and just ordered a hd 6950 today

Antoninus
02-02-2011, 05:29 PM
Now I would choose Intel I7 2600 CPU, Nvidia 560Ti GPU, maybe Hd 6950, 64 Bit Windows 7. But since it is now effectively impossible to buy a modern PC until late April/May I will probably wait to see what the Bulldozer AMD CPUs will offer.

Flying Pencil
02-03-2011, 12:04 AM
Wot?? No WinXP?

How dare you sir for not including it!



j/k

brando
02-03-2011, 01:45 AM
The AM3+ plus boards?

I believe they will have the nVidia 980i chipset - not sure what socket they'll be

Biggs [CV]
02-03-2011, 04:11 AM
I've got:
AMD Phenom II 965 3.4 quad core
8 GIG RAM
Win 7 64 bit
ATI 6870 GPU

Highly recommended.

BP_Tailspin
02-03-2011, 05:08 AM
Here's my system:

MOBO: ASUS Crosshair III Formula,
RAM: 8GB G Skill DDR3 1333,
CPU: AMD 965 Phenom II - 3.4GHz Quad-Core,
Cooling: ZALMAN 9500AT,
HD: (2) WD Black Edition, 1TB games, 500 GB operating system and programs,
GPU: EVGA GTX 470, (I’m going to upgrade to a 570 when CoD is released)
CD/DVD: LG with LightScribe,
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro,
PSU: Corsair 850HX Modular,
Case: Cooler Master Centurion 590,
OS: Windows 7 64-bit,

I think any newer build with lots of RAM and a good GPU is going to play IL2 CoD just fine.

WTE_Galway
02-03-2011, 05:39 AM
Either the Sandy Bridge i5-2500K or i7-2600K for the CPU .

Early Sandybridge MB's were recalled recently due to an issue with the secondary (3rd/4th) SATA ports so make absolutely sure you are being supplied with current post-recall stock with the fixed chipset. Most distributors would have returned any faulty stock for replacement already, but best to be careful.

Mr_Zooly
02-03-2011, 07:07 AM
AMD 965 BE @3.4
4gb RAM (soon to be 8gb)
GTX470 with 1280mb
on Win 7 64

flyingblind
02-03-2011, 05:59 PM
Are there any AM3 boards for SLI?

Asus M4N98TD EVO NF 980a SLI AM3 Motherboard

hiro
02-04-2011, 05:52 AM
XP is great for IL-2 but not for Dover . . . She's been a wonderful OS, but when the P-51D arrives, I'm just going to have let the 109E go for a Kurfurst


Intel quad set up, 64 bit, Nvidia.

no over clocking . . .

louisv
02-04-2011, 04:36 PM
Antec 1200 case with 8 fans and 850w ps
EVGA X58 FTW3 motherboard
Intel i7-980X cpu with Megahalems radiator
Mushkin 12 GB 1600 Mhz CL6 memory with OCZ XTC fan
EVGA GTX580 graphics
Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer sound
WD VelociRaptor 600 GB disk
LG Super Multi Blue BD rewriter
HP ZR24W IPS Monitor
Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog
Saitek Pro-Flight rudder pedals
Trackir 4

Should do the job !

1.JaVA_Jojo
02-04-2011, 06:19 PM
THIS is where you should look: http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=685&Itemid=8

Crossfade
02-04-2011, 07:06 PM
this is what i just built


Coolermaster real power 1000w+coolermaster Cosmos s case
Asus GeForce GTX 580 1536MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card x 2 sli
Asus Maximus IV Extreme Intel P67 (Socket 1155) DDR3 Motherboard - (Sandybridge)
Intel Core i7-2600K 3.40GHz (Sandybridge)
Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C8 1600MHz Dual Channel
CoolIT Vantage Liquid CPU Cooler

Should do the trick:grin:

JAMF
02-04-2011, 10:40 PM
Now I would choose Intel I7 2600 CPU, Nvidia 560Ti GPU, maybe Hd 6950, 64 Bit Windows 7. But since it is now effectively impossible to buy a modern PC until late April/May I will probably wait to see what the Bulldozer AMD CPUs will offer.

Same, except I want multi-screen gaming, with a one card option. That only leaves AMD.

Heliocon
02-05-2011, 05:02 PM
I'm sure many of us are considering upgrading or buying a new PC for CoD.

So, what would you choose?

PPanPan

If you ever post windows 7 32bit again in a comp components poll I will whine you...

PeterPanPan
02-05-2011, 05:05 PM
Very interesting replies/votes chaps. In summary:

1. Almost no one voted for Windows 7 32 bit.
2. Almost 75% voted for Intel over AMD.
3. Over 50% voted for Intel with Nvidia, the single most popular answer.

Thanks

PPanPan

swiss
02-05-2011, 05:05 PM
this is what i just built


Coolermaster real power 1000w+coolermaster Cosmos s case
Asus GeForce GTX 580 1536MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card x 2 sli
Asus Maximus IV Extreme Intel P67 (Socket 1155) DDR3 Motherboard - (Sandybridge)
Intel Core i7-2600K 3.40GHz (Sandybridge)
Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C8 1600MHz Dual Channel
CoolIT Vantage Liquid CPU Cooler

Should do the trick:grin:

1000w is such an overkill considering efficiency.
Enjoy the electricity bill.

PeterPanPan
02-05-2011, 05:07 PM
If you ever post windows 7 32bit again in a comp components poll I will whine you...

Huh?! Whine and dine me? No idea what you're on about.

JAMF
02-05-2011, 05:41 PM
1000w is such an overkill considering efficiency.
Enjoy you electricity bill.If he's planning to play overclocked (250W+), he'll be in the efficiency zone (20% of PSU). When idling in desktop (~140W), it'd be more efficient to have a 700W PSU though.

bf-110
02-05-2011, 05:49 PM
Intel i3,Win 7 64b,4 GB of RAM and GeForce 9600 GTX,that´s what I have currently.
Calling my PC now a MiG-25.

Heliocon
02-06-2011, 02:58 AM
Huh?! Whine and dine me? No idea what you're on about.

was being silly, but buying win7 32bit is also silly.

BigC208
02-06-2011, 06:55 PM
This is what I ordered for Il2 CoD, RoF and DCS A10. ETA two weeks.

CoolerMaster HAF-X full tower ATX Case
Intel Core i7-980X Extreme Edition Gulftown 3.33GHz LGA 1366 Six-Core Desktop Processor
ASUS Rampage III Extreme LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT 12GB (6 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 Desktop Memory
CORSAIR Professional Series AX1200 1200W ATX12V v2.31 / EPS12V v2.92 SLI Certified 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Power Supply
3 x Palit GTX580 3gb ram Graphics Cards
2 x Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM Internal Hard Drive
120gb intel SSD
LG Black 10X Blu-ray Burner - Bulk SATA WH10LS30 LightScribe Support
Lite-On 24X DVD Writer
Windows 7 64 professional edition.
Thermalright Archon

Computer Total ---------------------------------------$3100

3 x HP ZR30W 30 inch monitors-------------------------$3150

Warthog Hotas-----------------------------------------$ 490

Il2 CoD------------------------------------------------$ 50 :)

total--------------------------------------------------$6715

Watching my wifes face when i tell her I blew a months salary on a computer game.....Priceless!

Overkill? Maybe for now, this will have to last me a few years. I may ditch one of the gpu's if the third is not going to give me a good jump over regular sli.

kendo65
02-06-2011, 07:17 PM
...Now that's just being greedy! ;)

Seems you'll be future-proofed for a few years with that set-up.

BigC208
02-06-2011, 09:48 PM
It better be futere-proof. Asking for anything computer related and I'll be in the doghouse or looking for a new wife. She knew it was coming though. Built my last system in December of 2006 for SoW. When it had not come out by 2009 she asked me if I was allready saving up for the next system for SoW. I also use the multi monitor system for market analysis, options and stock trading. As a profesional pilot and flight instructor I can deduct all my flightsim gear for tax purposes so I have a bunch of good reasons/excuses to buy a kick@ss system every 4 years.

NLS61
02-09-2011, 10:44 PM
Im going to upgrade to:

MB ASUS P8H67
CPU i5 2500k
video MSI NVIDIA 560ti
and a thermaltake 675W
I know its not the highest bid here but I dont need bragging rights i need to be able to play this sim reasonaly well.

So my old rig is going to be my work rig.
Its:

MB ASUS striker extreem
CPU Q6600 quad
video NVIDEA 8800GT
With a 500W
It did run IL2 trough all it updates and versions just fine on the highest settings.

swiss
02-10-2011, 12:04 AM
what do you need the 675W PSU for?

speculum jockey
02-10-2011, 12:50 AM
what do you need the 675W PSU for?

Room for expansion/upgrades? Maybe he has a few hard drives in his system or 50 USP devices hooked up to a handful of hubs.

swiss
02-10-2011, 01:48 AM
That's why I was asking.

Just did some research and realized modern high-end(~$150) PSUs top out 80% efficiency at only 5% load.

Seems like there are no valid arguments against an overkill PSU left. :confused:

WTE_Galway
02-10-2011, 02:13 AM
That's why I was asking.

Just did some research and realized modern high-end(~$150) PSUs top out 80% efficiency at only 5% load.

Seems like there are no valid arguments against an overkill PSU left. :confused:

Initial cost is the only downside AFAIK .

BTW ... Its surprising how many intermittent strange hard to track down faults suddenly disappear after a PSU upgrade :D

swiss
02-10-2011, 02:27 AM
BTW ... Its surprising how many intermittent strange hard to track down faults suddenly disappear after a PSU upgrade from a cheap one.

FYP. ;)



Initial cost is the only downside AFAIK .

Buying twice will get you there without a doubt. :D

NLS61
02-10-2011, 10:36 AM
Room for expansion/upgrades? Maybe he has a few hard drives in his system or 50 USP devices hooked up to a handful of hubs.

Indeed expansion i plan to buy an other 560ti after the price drops at the end of the year.