PDA

View Full Version : CoD mod support?

Babi
02-01-2011, 06:58 PM
Hi everybody, first post ever, altought i've been flying IL-2 since 2003 ;)
First of all i want to thank Oleg and co. for the fantastic work in all these years. It's rare to find developers that really care about their communities and support the product.

Now to the topic:
I think i read somewhere that CoD will support mod from the very beginning... well for sure i hope it won't. Now before you blast me into oblivion let me explain:

I personally don't use mod on IL-2 but i think it was good for IL-2 to allow mod at that point because CoD was just around the corner and mods would bring new content and revamped graphics to the sim that otherwise wouldnt make it. They probably gave new life to the game and renewed the interest of many people for it.

For CoD however, being a brand new game, i don't think it needs tweaking like for il-2. I also fear this may have negative effects:

1) split the online community with modded and unmodded servers

2)Oleg said CoD will be the first of a new serie of sim (just like il-2, fb, ace, pf..). Now if some of the content of future games (map, object, plane, whatever) is already available as mods, i dont think many people would buy them, and this could affect negatively the support of the game by the developers.

thoughts?

mazex
02-01-2011, 07:21 PM
Hi everybody, first post ever, altought i've been flying IL-2 since 2003 ;)
First of all i want to thank Oleg and co. for the fantastic work in all these years. It's rare to find developers that really care about their communities and support the product.

Now to the topic:
I think i read somewhere that CoD will support mod from the very beginning... well for sure i hope it won't. Now before you blast me into oblivion let me explain: