PDA

View Full Version : Saitek AV8R - How well does it work with BoP 360?

kronovan
05-24-2010, 07:36 PM
My 1st post here and I'm new to the game having just bought 360 BoP on the weekend. I did a search here on the AV8R stick and found a number of threads where it seemed to be suggested that there's problems/issues with it and the 360 version of BoP. However, in the threads I found there wasn't any mention of the actual problems/issues? So a few questions I have about the stick:

- I saw mention of using nylon ties to hold the main stick further down in it's base - so on that note is there an issue -i.e. centering spring related- with BoP that this resolves.
- I also saw mention of no wheel brakes on the stick, not a big problem as they aren't there for the 360 gamepad either and I've managing to land, but is there really no way to enable this on the AV8R?
- I also came across a rewiring thread where part of the reason for considering it was that the view panning wasn't enabled for the top stick hat switch, is this actually the case?
- Are there any other issues that I haven't come across that I should be aware of?

I currently have a PC that runs IL-2 1946 well and has a HOTAS complete with throttle quadrant and pedals, so I'm leaning towards the the PC version of WoP if I want to play with the Sim level of difficulty. However, my son would prefer to play it on the 360, which is why I'm considering the AV8R - he also has Blazing Angels 2 and Ace Combat 6. Any answers you can provide to the above questions would help me make a decision and would be greatly appreciated.

sloppy_clock
05-24-2010, 07:51 PM