PDA

View Full Version : LA-7 love/hate relationship

Lost Apiarist
04-06-2010, 03:28 PM
Well I had a great/fun night online saturday the 3rd with Tree Smokerer and xx Waffen SS xx hosting some realistic matches, thanks! Now I am a newbie to flight sims so my skills are very weak but improving.

Now I am partial to the LA-7 for historical reasons and also love its nimbleness, I also like being the only one not flying a Spitfire or FW-109 but am quickly finding out that it is going to take a lot more practice to be effective with its seemingly anemic firepower. It was very difficult to get clean kills, I would end up damaging an enemy enough to crash but not enough to record a kill. Tried playing on a spitfire mk IX and recorded a few more kills but felt like I was flying a semi truck in comparison, definite trade off (and I was just another spit in the skies).

So realizing that the main component to all of this is going to be practice practice! Is their any other tips out there from LA-7 Ace's?

Thanks

SEE
04-06-2010, 04:17 PM
I prefer the LA5 in SIM (more ammo on limited F/A SIM sessions and other reasons). You got it one....practice your gunnery. There are no tips or tricks other than get close or time your burst for maximum damage on low flying Spits as these will hit the deck and no kill count. Realistic damage models are different to SIM and in SIM mode you should find that the LA is capable of clean kills even from long range. Learn to follow a 'clip' by a 'kill' by watching the target in front of you, maintain a favourable angle of attack by adjusting throttle and direction...then pounce and finish the job!

Lost Apiarist
04-06-2010, 04:28 PM
Yeah I think getting in closer is one of the key's that I am gonna have to work on.

SEE
04-06-2010, 04:45 PM