Fulqrum Publishing Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official Fulqrum Publishing forum > Fulqrum Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads > Performance threads

Performance threads All discussions about CoD performnce

Old 05-17-2011, 12:49 AM
Approved Member

Default does overclocking really pay off

I have n't paid a lot of attention to it here, so I'm asking. I see some guys are above 4ghz with their processors. From what I've read around the net, the payoff at that speed is not very much for games anyway. Other tasks, maybe. Anyone seen any different? Curious about this sim specifically.
thanks,
Flyby out
Old 05-17-2011, 02:55 AM
Approved Member

I'm a total newbie to overclocking... just tried it out for the first time last weekend. Took my processor from stock 3.2 GHz to 3.6 GHz very easily, and nothing bad happened to my computer. Tried to go up one more notch to 3.7 and saw my first BSOD. So I'm sticking to 3.6 GHz for now while I educate myself some more.

Ingame, I noticed the slow parts of the Black Death track ran a whopping 3 fps faster. No perceptible difference while actually playing. So my very limited experience so far is that it doesn't actually pay off. Maybe some more experienced overclockers will know better.
Old 05-17-2011, 03:30 AM
Approved Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Owl View Post
I'm a total newbie to overclocking... just tried it out for the first time last weekend. Took my processor from stock 3.2 GHz to 3.6 GHz very easily, and nothing bad happened to my computer. Tried to go up one more notch to 3.7 and saw my first BSOD. So I'm sticking to 3.6 GHz for now while I educate myself some more.