Fulqrum Publishing Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official Fulqrum Publishing forum > Fulqrum Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads > FM/DM threads

FM/DM threads Everything about FM/DM in CoD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2012, 08:14 PM
ACE-OF-ACES's Avatar
ACE-OF-ACES ACE-OF-ACES is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 2,248
Default Flight Model (FM) Testing Hurricane Mk.I v1.10.20332 Beta

Flight Model (FM) Testing Hurricane Mk.I v1.10.20332 Beta

CONFIGURATION:
The following Top Speed per Altitude (TSPA) test was performed starting with a full fuel load and ammo load (no bombs) and the radiators/cowlings are set to full open (worst case).

PROCEDURE:
The top speed is tested at each of the following altitudes:

Code:
   100ft
 1,000ft
 2,000ft
 4,000ft
 6,000ft
 8,000ft
10,000ft
12,000ft
14,000ft
16,000ft
17,750ft (Spit MAX)
20,000ft
22,000ft
24,000ft
26,000ft
28,000ft
30,000ft
The test begins with an air start near sea level. At each altitude the plane flies for a distance of 15,000 meters (9.32 miles) before climbing to the next test altitude. Note at SL and max altitude there may be some 'pilot error' associated with the data (spikes), therefore you may have to ignore the 'spikes' in the data at these two extremes and visually extend the graphs using the data above and/or below the spike. I am working on C# code to do this automatically, but it is not finished.

During the flight all pertinent data is logged using a C# script. The TAS and altitude (Z_VelocityTAS & Z_AltitudeMSL) data is than graphed (see attached). The graph only plots the max TAS value per altitude. If you would like to viewed/inspected all the TAS values you can do so at my web site http://www.flightsimtesting.com/.

NOTE at my site you can compare one in-game plan to in-game plane, or an in-game plane to one of the many real world data sets that are uploaded at my web site. This was done to make it easier to see how well the in-game plane test data matches the real world test data. You can also change the units SI to imperial, and save any graph displayed by simply right-mouse-clicking on the graph and saving it as an image to your PC.

I am also in the process of allowing you to upload your own in-game and/or real world test data at my web site, after which you will be able to graph and compare data via my web site.

SPECIAL THANKS TO:
FST for double checking my C# script file
FG28_Kodiak for all his help with C# scripts
Ataros for all his help with C# scripts
Attached Images
File Type: jpg TSPA_Hurricane_Mk.I.jpg (108.9 KB, 43 views)
__________________
Theres a reason for instrumenting a plane for test..
That being a pilots's 'perception' of what is going on can be very different from what is 'actually' going on.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2012, 08:29 PM
5./JG27.Farber 5./JG27.Farber is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,958
Default

Nice, thanks. Confirmed what I believed that the spits out climbing us at low level.

Any reason you used the 109 E4B and not a regular 109 like the 109 E4?

Last edited by 5./JG27.Farber; 10-14-2012 at 08:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2012, 09:09 PM
ACE-OF-ACES's Avatar
ACE-OF-ACES ACE-OF-ACES is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 2,248
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5./JG27.Farber View Post
Nice, thanks. Confirmed what I believed that the spits out climbing us at low level.
Hun?

Not sure how you came to that conclusion based on a top speed per altitude test? You should wait for my ROC testing to make such calls.

On that note, if your looking at the ROC data from this TSPA test at my website, DONT!

In that the ROC data collected during this TSPA test consists of a ZOOM climb between altitudes, thus not a valid ROC test!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5./JG27.Farber View Post
Any reason you used the 109 E4B and not a regular 109 like the 109 E4?
None
__________________
Theres a reason for instrumenting a plane for test..
That being a pilots's 'perception' of what is going on can be very different from what is 'actually' going on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2012, 09:53 PM
5./JG27.Farber 5./JG27.Farber is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,958
Default

Ahhh I wondered why the graph was having a fit...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2012, 10:04 PM
ACE-OF-ACES's Avatar
ACE-OF-ACES ACE-OF-ACES is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 2,248
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5./JG27.Farber View Post
Ahhh I wondered why the graph was having a fit...
Roger.. near the top of the website on the 'IL-2 Cliffs of Dover' you should see a pull down menu called 'Test Type'.. The default is 'Rate of Climb (ROC)', switch it to 'Top Speed per Altitude (TSPA)'. That will switch the graph below from displaying ROC data to TAS data from the CoD C# log files. Also note, you can switch the units the graphs displays.
__________________
Theres a reason for instrumenting a plane for test..
That being a pilots's 'perception' of what is going on can be very different from what is 'actually' going on.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2012, 10:17 PM
5./JG27.Farber 5./JG27.Farber is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,958
Default

Thanks keep it up!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 Fulqrum Publishing. All rights reserved.