Fulqrum Publishing Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official Fulqrum Publishing forum > Fulqrum Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads > FM/DM threads

FM/DM threads Everything about FM/DM in CoD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2012, 07:36 PM
ACE-OF-ACES's Avatar
ACE-OF-ACES ACE-OF-ACES is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 2,248
Default Flight Model (FM) Testing G.50 v1.10.20332 Beta

Flight Model (FM) Testing G.50 v1.10.20332 Beta

CONFIGURATION:
The following Top Speed per Altitude (TSPA) test was performed starting with a full fuel load and ammo load (no bombs) and the radiators/cowlings are set to full open (worst case).

PROCEDURE:
The top speed is tested at each of the following altitudes:

Code:
   100ft
 1,000ft
 2,000ft
 4,000ft
 6,000ft
 8,000ft
10,000ft
12,000ft
14,000ft
16,000ft
17,750ft (Spit MAX)
20,000ft
22,000ft
24,000ft
26,000ft
28,000ft
30,000ft
The test begins with an air start near sea level. At each altitude the plane flies for a distance of 15,000 meters (9.32 miles) before climbing to the next test altitude. Note at SL and max altitude there may be some 'pilot error' associated with the data (spikes), therefore you may have to ignore the 'spikes' in the data at these two extremes and visually extend the graphs using the data above and/or below the spike. I am working on C# code to do this automatically, but it is not finished.

During the flight all pertinent data is logged using a C# script. The TAS and altitude (Z_VelocityTAS & Z_AltitudeMSL) data is than graphed (see attached). The graph only plots the max TAS value per altitude. If you would like to viewed/inspected all the TAS values you can do so at my web site http://www.flightsimtesting.com/.

NOTE at my site you can compare one in-game plan to in-game plane, or an in-game plane to one of the many real world data sets that are uploaded at my web site. This was done to make it easier to see how well the in-game plane test data matches the real world test data. You can also change the units SI to imperial, and save any graph displayed by simply right-mouse-clicking on the graph and saving it as an image to your PC.

I am also in the process of allowing you to upload your own in-game and/or real world test data at my web site, after which you will be able to graph and compare data via my web site.

SPECIAL THANKS TO:
FST for double checking my C# script file
FG28_Kodiak for all his help with C# scripts
Ataros for all his help with C# scripts
Attached Images
File Type: jpg TSPA_G.50.jpg (93.2 KB, 37 views)
__________________
Theres a reason for instrumenting a plane for test..
That being a pilots's 'perception' of what is going on can be very different from what is 'actually' going on.

Last edited by ACE-OF-ACES; 10-14-2012 at 07:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-15-2012, 09:13 PM
TomcatViP TomcatViP is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,323
Default n

Funny... we don't hear here the usual experts abt the CoD G50 perfs...

Surely too happy to enjoy their new boosted elliptical candy.

Ace, the AI pilot don't use boost, is tht right?

Imoho you shld allow more distance (time in fact) to each plane to reach their max speed. But surly you had a good raison to make such a choice.

Great job btw!

Last edited by TomcatViP; 10-15-2012 at 09:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2012, 09:28 PM
bongodriver's Avatar
bongodriver bongodriver is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomcatViP View Post
Funny... we don't hear here the usual experts abt the CoD G50 perfs...

Surely too happy to enjoy their new boosted elliptical candy.

Ace, the AI pilot don't use boost, is tht right?

Imoho you shld allow more distance (time in fact) to each plane to reach their max speed. But surly you had a good raison to make such a choice.

Great job btw!

Why do you hate Spitfires so passionately?
__________________


Intel Q9550 @3.3ghz(OC), Asus rampage extreme MOBO, Nvidia GTX470 1.2Gb Vram, 8Gb DDR3 Ram, Win 7 64bit ultimate edition
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2012, 09:34 PM
TomcatViP TomcatViP is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,323
Default

I didn't even hated my wyfe mother.... and I having I shld have

No hate Bongo. Just a feel like water being poured in my scotch... I know you will share my feelings! (But not my spelling - sry)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2012, 09:53 PM
bongodriver's Avatar
bongodriver bongodriver is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,546
Default

Quote:
Just a feel like water being poured in my scotch
But that's like a slap in the face after having your family dishonoured......good enough reason to hate.
__________________


Intel Q9550 @3.3ghz(OC), Asus rampage extreme MOBO, Nvidia GTX470 1.2Gb Vram, 8Gb DDR3 Ram, Win 7 64bit ultimate edition
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2012, 09:59 PM
TomcatViP TomcatViP is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,323
Default

.....are we trolling together?!....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-15-2012, 10:12 PM
ACE-OF-ACES's Avatar
ACE-OF-ACES ACE-OF-ACES is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 2,248
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomcatViP View Post
Funny... we don't hear here the usual experts abt the CoD G50 perfs...

Surely too happy to enjoy their new boosted elliptical candy.
Ah.. sorry.. you lost me there

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomcatViP View Post
Ace, the AI pilot don't use boost, is tht right?
Not sure if they do or don't

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomcatViP View Post
Imoho you shld allow more distance (time in fact) to each plane to reach their max speed. But surly you had a good raison to make such a choice.
I went back and forth on a few different values and found that a 10 mile run seems to work for all the fighter types..

Keep in mind this is all prelim

If I or other find it is not enough distance/time I can extend it..

Just did these test to get the ball rolling and trying to generate some feedback and review of the results..

That and to work out the bugs if any in my standard C# script..

Long story short

I am not the best test pilot!

My goal is to come up with some standard tools via my website to make it easier for all the test pilot types out there

Such that their results can be presented and reviewed in a standard and repeatable manor!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomcatViP View Post
Great job btw!
Thanks!
__________________
Theres a reason for instrumenting a plane for test..
That being a pilots's 'perception' of what is going on can be very different from what is 'actually' going on.

Last edited by ACE-OF-ACES; 10-15-2012 at 10:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 Fulqrum Publishing. All rights reserved.