Fulqrum Publishing Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official Fulqrum Publishing forum > Fulqrum Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads

Technical threads All discussions about technical issues

Old 11-07-2011, 05:52 PM
Approved Member

Default Track IR5 vs Freetrack.

I've been running with Freetrack for a few months now, but I'm finding that I have to change the profile all the time to compensate for varying lighting conditions, how low my battery pack is running etc. Plus I have to delete a dll everytime I want to play Dirt 2 or F1 2010 or they won't even launch.
My question is aimed at anyone who has used both systems, how much better is TrackIR 5 than Freetrack?
Old 11-07-2011, 06:02 PM
Approved Member

TrackIR is expensive but it simply works. Well, that's the reason why it is expensive plus theres no competitors.

How I wish that Saitek e.g. was building a head tracker

But until that day take TrackIR. Forget Freetrack. I've tested them both.
Old 11-07-2011, 06:08 PM
Approved Member

Freetrack is better. I never have to touch my profile. My hat plugs into usb port, so no worries about battery. You could also make a hat to plug into a wall socket if you wanted to do that. If your room lighting varies, I suspect you will have problems with either system. Instead of fixing the profile all the time, fix your room. Put some window blinds up or something.
Old 11-07-2011, 06:14 PM
Approved Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadBlaster View Post
If your room lighting varies, I suspect you will have problems with either system.
I have no issues with TIR ever and I fly in all lighting conditions, daylight, artificial and darkness, not once have I ever had to adjust my profile to suit as TIR continues to work flawlessly in each case.

How can you state that freetrack is better when you have never used TIR?

Last edited by Dano; 11-07-2011 at 06:19 PM.