Fulqrum Publishing Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official Fulqrum Publishing forum > Fulqrum Publishing > King's Bounty > King's Bounty: Crossworlds > Mods

Mods King's Bounty: Crossworlds Mods

Old 01-07-2023, 02:42 PM
Approved Member

Lightbulb Reverse-Engineering of King's Bounty's 3D model and animation systems

I was always a fan of the KB and HoMM series, and ever since I first finished Crossworlds, I wanted to mod this game and make maps for it. I was much younger back then, and also didn't even have the maped texture pack after scouring the internet (though I have thankfully found it a few years ago). And to properly mod the game, I also needed to figure out how the 3D files work in the KB games, which I tried to, but with my minimal programming knowledge, I couldn't figure out much at all.

Anyway, fast-forward many years, and now I'm a 3D artist who was reminded of this game. So, here's the reason why I'm actually making this post: if there is someone who could figure out how these 3D file formats (bma and bms, IIRC there also was a cms EDIT: there is bsa too, for animations, which is crucial) work and make a converter from fbx to those, I could very well provide models and animations from time to time and perhaps develop a small (or maybe big, with time?) mod for either King's Bounty game (or perhaps all, since they work the same way and a mod with a few creatures is easy to make for all of them) that introduces some creatures from HoMM3, like Titans, Angels, Faerie Dragons etc. Below you can see one of my older, unfinished recreations of H3's Titan (if this converter would ever happen, I would go back to it and finish it + manual paint it in KB's style, although I have to admit, my hopes are very low that this'll happen, but it's worth a try):
Attached Images
File Type: jpg render5.jpg (278.5 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by Space Knight; 01-14-2023 at 10:53 AM.