Fulqrum Publishing Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official Fulqrum Publishing forum > Fulqrum Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads > FM/DM threads

FM/DM threads Everything about FM/DM in CoD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2012, 04:02 PM
decay decay is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Darwin Australia.
Posts: 15
Default No -Cold Start Ups after Oct'12 patch.

Hi All,

Is there something I can edit to get back to having to start up from cold again.

It was frustrating, so I can imagine why they took it out, but I loved it.
With full realism on, You had to coax your engine to life and warm it up.

The bombers would fly overhead, and you still had to wait on the ground getting the engine right.

Now every mission starts with the engine running, warmed up, radiator open.

Can I get it back how it was?

Thanks,

-Dave Decay

PS this specifically applies to the GB campaign, I havent checked anything else.

Win 7 i5 16GB ram nVidia560Ti
logitech extreme 3d joy
Saitek Yoke&Throttle
Saitek Rudder
TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2012, 12:34 AM
ACE-OF-ACES's Avatar
ACE-OF-ACES ACE-OF-ACES is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 2,248
Default

__________________
Theres a reason for instrumenting a plane for test..
That being a pilots's 'perception' of what is going on can be very different from what is 'actually' going on.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2012, 12:46 AM
Sokol1's Avatar
Sokol1 Sokol1 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 727
Default

Probable due people "whining" - failed to take off with Blenheim in the mission "Cross country" that began with the engines OFF in previous firts versions of game, some feature are "tuned down".

Sokol1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2012, 10:04 AM
klem's Avatar
klem klem is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by decay View Post
Hi All,

Is there something I can edit to get back to having to start up from cold again.

It was frustrating, so I can imagine why they took it out, but I loved it.
With full realism on, You had to coax your engine to life and warm it up.

The bombers would fly overhead, and you still had to wait on the ground getting the engine right.

Now every mission starts with the engine running, warmed up, radiator open.

Can I get it back how it was?

Thanks,

-Dave Decay

PS this specifically applies to the GB campaign, I havent checked anything else.

Win 7 i5 16GB ram nVidia560Ti
logitech extreme 3d joy
Saitek Yoke&Throttle
Saitek Rudder
TrackIR 5
You are a very strange person who may be in need of help.

Personally I like the 'almost warm' engines. In RL the ground crew would have been kept warm for pilots on standby (and aren't we all?). But I fly on-line, not off-line.
__________________
klem
56 Squadron RAF "Firebirds"
http://firebirds.2ndtaf.org.uk/



ASUS Sabertooth X58 /i7 950 @ 4GHz / 6Gb DDR3 1600 CAS8 / EVGA GTX570 GPU 1.28Gb superclocked / Crucial 128Gb SSD SATA III 6Gb/s, 355Mb-215Mb Read-Write / 850W PSU
Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium / Samsung 22" 226BW @ 1680 x 1050 / TrackIR4 with TrackIR5 software / Saitek X52 Pro & Rudders
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2012, 11:54 AM
notafinger! notafinger! is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 124
Default

Open the missions in the FMB, select the player's flight which is marked with a flag. Under group properties make sure the box next to Spawn Parked is checked. Save and exit. Plane will now start with cold engine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2012, 01:57 PM
LoBiSoMeM LoBiSoMeM is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 963
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by notafinger! View Post
Open the missions in the FMB, select the player's flight which is marked with a flag. Under group properties make sure the box next to Spawn Parked is checked. Save and exit. Plane will now start with cold engine.
Perfect...

Some people blame this amazing sim and don't try to understand things!

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-2012, 06:06 PM
trademe900 trademe900 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by decay View Post
Hi All,

Is there something I can edit to get back to having to start up from cold again.

It was frustrating, so I can imagine why they took it out, but I loved it.
With full realism on, You had to coax your engine to life and warm it up.

The bombers would fly overhead, and you still had to wait on the ground getting the engine right.

Now every mission starts with the engine running, warmed up, radiator open.

Can I get it back how it was?

Thanks,

-Dave Decay

PS this specifically applies to the GB campaign, I havent checked anything else.

Win 7 i5 16GB ram nVidia560Ti
logitech extreme 3d joy
Saitek Yoke&Throttle
Saitek Rudder
TrackIR 5
You are kidding me right? It was extremely unrealistic before with regard to engine management and startup. I also suspect you might be in need of special help?

There is no such 'bug' with the real aircraft where you had to have the throttle accurate to the nearest 1%, mixture on lean and have the engine stupidly splutter forever. Come on, engine on lean mixture to start up? Ridiculous. Sorry to break the news but it was extremely unrealistic before, now it is fixed.

Last edited by trademe900; 11-11-2012 at 06:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2012, 03:51 AM
decay decay is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Darwin Australia.
Posts: 15
Default Thank You

@notafinger: Hans Gruber

Thank you for your Prompt. Polite, Helpful and Accurate response.

-Dave

@everyone else
I have no experience of cold starting airplanes beyond the usual trainers: Piper, Cessna and Jabiru.

But I assume the game designers do their best to model engine management as accurately as possible within their limitations.*

A mid-seventies vintage Piper Warrior on a cold morning in Bendigo can be pretty fussy to start. The in-game Cold Start modelling seemed about the right amount of stuffing around.

- Dave

* My mind boggles thinking about the limitations that game designers might face.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 Fulqrum Publishing. All rights reserved.