PDA

View Full Version : A newbie's questions on combat

Oliver_Reed
05-13-2009, 07:00 PM
Hi folks,

I'm new to the King's Bounty game - in fact pretty new to the RPG genre. So I have a few questions regarding the combat system.

So far, all I've done is played the tutorial section doing the quests for Iron Richard and have found the combat - well, - not totally within my control.

I'm afraid the manual hasn't been any help and I can't seem to find any tutorials on the internet - hence this post.

What I know about the combat so far is:
- My character isn't in the arena, that's my army!
- I can cast spells to help my army in various ways - e.g. fireball
- I can move each unit in my army a limited number of steps per turn.
- I can order my unit to attack an enemy
- The units seem to be available to move in some sort of rotation, when their base turns to a golden symbol

What I'd like to know is:
- How can I tell a unit which weapon to attack with? (if that's possible)
- If I don't want to move a unit, how do I select the next unit instead?
- Do I have to move a unit to it's maximum range? Or can I move it just a few steps within its range and then select the next unit.

Any help would be appreciated.

Ollie.

phalzyr
05-13-2009, 07:47 PM
- How can I tell a unit which weapon to attack with? (if that's possible)
You primarily don't they only have one weapon basically. They do have special abilities like preist has heal and such. When it is there turn look in lower right of screen. There will be icons for each special ability the unit has. click it then target to perform it.

- If I don't want to move a unit, how do I select the next unit instead?
You can either tell it to guard, or wait. (Also in bottom right of screen, hour glass is wait and shield is guard or possibly defend not sure term)
Wait will make the unit perform it's turn after everyone else.
Guard will give them extra defense if they are attacked.