PDA

View Full Version : DX9 vs DX10


LordJuanlo
03-20-2009, 04:18 PM
I feel stupid, but I can't find a link about the differences between DX9 and DX10 modes. I have already seen DX10 is slower (45-50 fps with 4xAA in DX10, and constant 60 fps with vsync in DX9), but I don't see any graphical difference. Could anybody please enlight me?

LordJuanlo
03-27-2009, 01:59 PM
It looks like users don't know, please anyone from 1C could answer the question?. I really would like to know

ztorm
03-28-2009, 05:22 PM
Here's a couple screenshots (2560x1600, all options maxxed, 4x AA).
The difference between DX10 and DX9 in NecroVisioN is pretty subtle and hard to notice while playing, as is usually the case - DX10 effects added to DX9 games can be a nice touch, but they're nothing to get excited about really. DX10 has more complex lighting and shadows : details on walls and objects are more realistic, at a cost. The fog is also more homogeneous, although it often feels like DX10 is "more foggy". Finally, DX10 water effects are also a bit better, but there's more water in the main menu than almost anywhere else in the game, so who cares ?

Two screenies are not enough to really answer your question, but hey. Hope it helps.

LordJuanlo
03-30-2009, 11:24 AM
Thank you very much ztorm

Nike-it
03-30-2009, 11:43 AM
Ztorm is right, some effects are more detailed in DX10 mode, but anyway there is no big difference between dx9 and dx10.

cocolapin
03-30-2009, 08:49 PM
Here's a couple screenshots (2560x1600, all options maxxed, 4x AA).
The difference between DX10 and DX9 in NecroVisioN is pretty subtle and hard to notice while playing, as is usually the case - DX10 effects added to DX9 games can be a nice touch, but they're nothing to get excited about really. DX10 has more complex lighting and shadows : details on walls and objects are more realistic, at a cost. The fog is also more homogeneous, although it often feels like DX10 is "more foggy". Finally, DX10 water effects are also a bit better, but there's more water in the main menu than almost anywhere else in the game, so who cares ?

Two screenies are not enough to really answer your question, but hey. Hope it helps.


grr i cant see any picture, what is that !?
it always main me to "login age" and then nothing,
how can i see pictures please ?

Nike-it
03-31-2009, 06:56 AM
grr i cant see any picture, what is that !?
it always main me to "login age" and then nothing,
how can i see pictures please ?

Can you make a screenshot of the picture you get?

cocolapin
04-08-2009, 08:48 PM
Can you make a screenshot of the picture you get?

there s no screenshot to take, because when i click on the link i go on "login page"
sometimes a little picture appears on the topic, when i click on the second one i can see the picture bigger
but it dont works with the first one.
:s

cocolapin
04-10-2009, 10:39 PM
ok i can see now :)