PDA

View Full Version : Game freezes after few minutes

krako
01-16-2009, 05:53 PM
Ladies and gentlemen,

unfortunately, my copy of King's Bounty is absolutely unplayable due to an freezing error which occurs after 1-2 min of gameplay. The music continues to play, but everything else is completey frozen, making a hard-reset of the computer necessary.
Even in the two minutes before freezing, sometimes graphical glitches are visible, like flickering and ghosting.

Configuration:
- Kings Bounty, German Version, patched to 1.7
- Windows Vista 64
- 8 GB Ram, Nvidia 9600 GT (2560x1600), onboard Realtek sound.

What I tried, to no avail:
- Windows' Compatibility Modes
- Updating every driver in the system, incl. Direct X
- Multi / Single display
- Messing with ini file
- Running kb.exe as admin

Please deliver an solution to this asap.

An extremely frustrated and embarrassed costumer.

FarAway Sooner
01-19-2009, 05:17 AM
Noob here, but I thought I'd share, having just bought the game this weekend after playing the Demo for a week or two.

I had the same problem--game locks up after 2-4 minutes, music keeps playing, but the computer doesn't respond otherwise and I have no option but a hard power down. Very frustrating.

So I downloaded the DirectX 9.0c drivers, as recommended, but that didn't fix it. Deinstalled King's Bounty, reinstalled (from GamersGate again), tried playing without the patch, still got the problem.

So I decided to roll back to the previous Nvidia driver--I went back to 178.24, after having recently installed the 181.20 drivers for 32-bit Vista.

And, voila! The game played fine. It gave me a CTD after about two hours of playing (I'm hoping that patching it might have fixed that), but it no longer gave the results identical to what we both experienced--and I definitely reproduced mine 5-8 times before I finally solved it.