PDA

View Full Version : Fighting undead

asprah
12-31-2008, 02:09 PM
Ok I am a still a bit newbie so I apologize if this was answered before- I coudnĀ“t find it.
My question is this: what is the most effective ways of fighting undead without taking losses? I know UD are weak versus holy dmg but I really do not have any holy dmg spells besides heal in my spell book.
I am warr lvl 7, got 2 spirits of rage active atm, got lvl 1 order and distortion skill and the rest is invested in might skills of course. Units I am using mostly are guardians, ancient bears, archmages, priests and bowmen (snakes are out :D).
My point is that I almost have no losses in any other fights but I just can not fight the undead without losing some- am I doing something wrong?

My other question is about incorporating undead in my army. Does it worth to take Dark commander skill since I would like my army to consist of undead mostly at some point? Or is it worth to mix armies no matter of moral loss? I would really like to know this before I invest points in that skill because I would not want to start all over again just because I screwed up with my choice of skills.
Ty!

Holywhippet
01-01-2009, 12:31 AM
Personally I wouldn't bother much with the undead. There are much better troops amongst the living.

Priests are good, but inquisitors are better. There are generally some for sale in the magic academy (not the one in the starting area, the one in the next area where the abandoned castle is).

Dump the archmages, I don't think they do enough damage for their cost. Their special skills aren't that great either.

Unicorns are very good against undead, but odds are you can't get them yet.

You might be able to access alchemists though. They are a fairly strong troop - you can get some from the alchemist in the swamp region.

Keep in mind that bowmen do less damage against skeletons, shoot at them only if you have nothing else to shoot at.