PDA

View Full Version : My graphics card gets hot when playing KB!

Metroplex
12-03-2008, 03:15 AM
This isn't a problem per se, as I can still play the game comfortably and at all settings maxed, I have a 3.0Ghz dual core processor, 120G of space, 2G of RAM and a 8600GT 500MB Nvidia card, yet this is the only game (and Crysis on med) that makes my graphics card whine and spin like there is no tomorrow! It gets hot aswell after a short time of playing KB, all my other games play fine and the card is as quiet as a when underload, my drive is defragged daily using Auslogics disk defrag but it still makes a lost of noise, do you experience this problem too? Write!:confused:

Gatts
12-08-2008, 12:52 PM
Well - I have a story for this thread, I hope it will help a little bit:

1.) From the time I started playing KB tL my video was flickering / blinking randomly... I ingored that, hoping it is somehow as designed (as my PC is old *hit)

2.) PC started to SHUTDOWN totally... well... try to ingore this :) I failed

3.) I started ATI utility - and right after reboot it had 90 Degree Celsius... WTF? I said

4.) I reinstalled KB tL thinking it is this game issue - the same... random shutdown.

5.) I stopped dreaming it will be solved by itself... and threw my good old Dungeon & Dragons 20 "cube" My basic attack in PC science is +3 and I used blessed screwdriver of +5, my PC has Rustyness DEF of + 15... I rolled 9... 9+3+5 = 17... HIT! ... this means, instead of just kicking my PC in chassis, I took my screwslayer screwdriver and opened the damn PC ... sad it was no critical... screws would fly over my room

6.) the hot fire innards of my slaught PC burned my paladin fine fingers, but I resisted fire by my Fortitute +20... LUCKY!

7.) The evil spell of " criss-crossed crazy cable mayhem" was dispelled by my "tear them off" counter-spell... and 2 antimagick words like "WTF!" or "WTF?" ...