PDA

View Full Version : Request for some newguy tips

bigheadmikelove
10-02-2008, 05:35 PM
I just started playing this game last night and I have to say that it is a wonderful game (I remember the original waaaaay back, I have to say it's come along way since for sure) and I have run into a stumbling block of sorts...I have gotten to level 4 and now it seems that wherever I go I have a whole bunch of armies that I can't seem to beat (ex I'll have like 20 swordsman, the armies I run into are all in the filled with units of 50 or greater).. the highest level units that I can get are archmages and I frankly think that they are about useless (though the moving a unit one hex is a pretty neat mechanic IMO, I'm gonna have to work about with it) but basically could someone post a semi detailed walkthrough to at least getting the Spirits of Rage...I haven't been able to get mine on my game, and as an old school 4xer and Homm (and original KB player for that matter) I'd have to go and turn in my nerd pride card if I set the game to easy, lol...I've been playing as a warrior but it seems like most of the skills in the tree that I want are in the "green" skill tree (the leadership one on the top left looks really tasty...so onto my questions I guess.

1st could someone give a basic how to get the spirit of rage walkthrough up...it obviously is an important mechanic to the game, I feel like I'm missing out.

2nd where to go to get the "cool" units.. all I can get are seeds wolves bears and the "human (for lack of a better term) units

3rd what are the cant miss skills, and conversely what are the ones that you should really stay far away from....

4th (and this isn't neccessarily for myself, but I'm sure people out there could use some help on it) Tactics...the game is almost to deceptively simple but the battle system appears (after about 4 5 hours playtime for me) to have true strategic depth...