PDA

View Full Version : 4.11 AI with 4.10 CEM?

ssn637
12-21-2012, 03:10 PM
First off, I'd like to thank Team Daidalos for their extraordinary efforts in making IL-2 better than ever. I'm a submariner by trade, but love to take off in my beloved Spit on weekends and tear up the skies. Pure arcade mode, mind you, with cockpit off and external views allowed :) And of course, slowing down the action to 1/4 time before lining up for the shot without the otherwise inevitable mid-air collision!

Well, my beloved Spit is struggling with these realistic CEM and overheat settings. I've tried my best to read up on all the manuals, memorise oil and coolant temperature limits, note take-off, climb, max continuous and combat boost and engine speed recommendations; to no avail. When I try to open the throttle beyond 65% the engine speed rpm exceeds 2750 and I can only bring it down by reducing prop pitch, which should be fully automatic in the Spits. The radiator controls were also fully automatic, but if I don't keep them open manually temperatures soar. If I switch to autopilot and watch the gauges the engine speed is pegged at 2750 regardless of throttle position, which shouldn't be happening. I should probably mention that I'm flying a Spit XIVC with the aid of the excellent HSFX 6.0.17 in 4.11.1M, which may be the problem since the Spit XIV isn't modeled in the original game.

So, my question is: For those of us who would like to avoid disabling CEM or Overheat completely while taking advantage of the improved AI, is there any way to revert CEM to V4.10 while retaining V4.11's AI bad-ass features? Perhaps copying a file from 4.10 over to 4.11 or something similar? Or perhaps this could be a feature in a newer release? Something like CEM Advanced vs CEM Intermediate as an option? I just can't believe WWII pilots were adjusting fuel mixtures, prop pitch, radiator and boost settings in the heat of combat! Wasn't trim enough to worry about?

Cheers

Geoffrey

IceFire