PDA

View Full Version : Team Daidalos 190A4 Dgen issues


kennel
05-20-2012, 05:36 AM
Hi

When you created the FW 190A4 fully rated & derated the Stock 190A4 to the 80% throttle max an issue has been created in the Dgen campaigns as now we can only use the derated 190A4, as we cant get the 190A4 FR to operate in any Dgen campaigns.

The only way this will occur is if Asura`s Dgen exe mod becomes a fully functional program or Lowengrins DCG is used. However it still doesnt help a PC novice who only wants to fly & not get into dgen alterations.

A solution to this issue is to have the 190A4 FR recognised by DGEN exe as the "stock"190 & the derated 190 made the new addition.

Is this possible it would mean reversing the naming of the models somehow

Opinions or am I flogging a dead horse?

JtD
05-20-2012, 05:49 AM
The A-4 had always been modelled with performance trying to represent a de-rated model. This is why the fully rated version was introduced in a new slot, while the de-rated one was kept in the existing slot. This way round it is more consistent, and I don't think it is a good idea to change it.

kennel
05-20-2012, 11:26 AM
The A-4 had always been modelled with performance trying to represent a de-rated model. This is why the fully rated version was introduced in a new slot, while the de-rated one was kept in the existing slot. This way round it is more consistent, and I don't think it is a good idea to change it.

I am not talking about any FM change, I am talking about how the 190A4 FR can be recognised by DGEN so it can be utilised in offline campaigns. As it currently is we can only use the derated model with 80% throttle max. This alters your ability in campaigns such as Channel Front developed by Boelke as well as his 1939 to 1945 Westfront campaign.

When new 190s such as the 190 A51.65ATA & the TA 152C have been introduced we have been able to incorperate them into dgen campaigns. Currently the 190A4 FR is not recognised by the dgen exe.

JtD
05-20-2012, 11:56 AM
I was referring to your suggestion to exchange fully rated and de-rated versions. This would not be a good solution, as all missions prior to 4.11 used the de-rated version, and, with the solution at it is now, still are.

Adding the fully rated version to DGen is another issue, where I can't help.

kennel
05-20-2012, 12:31 PM
Arrr now I am with your line of thinking.

However with the advent of 4.07 patch or the release of IL2 1946 I thought the actual derating of the 190A4 disappeared & it turned into or got closer to what it should represent.

Prior to 4.07 it was a very poor machine, However I havnt flown the 190A4 FR & the derated one to make a comparison

JtD
05-20-2012, 12:45 PM
Up to 4.11 and also now the A-4 is about 25-30 km/h slower than the A-5. The A-5 never was modelled as de-rated and therefore is a good reference.

The A-4FR is a tad bit faster than the A-5.

fruitbat
05-20-2012, 01:26 PM
as now we can only use the derated 190A4, as we cant get the 190A4 FR to operate in any Dgen campaigns.

The only way this will occur is if Asura`s Dgen exe mod becomes a fully functional program or Lowengrins DCG is used.


Not true.

I have added the FW 190 A4FR into Dgen, it just requires editing of a few files in notepad, thats all, you can do it yourself in 10 mins.

Flying in a Kuban dgen campaign (its a real killer!),

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y290/thefruitbat1/grab0022.jpg

kennel
05-20-2012, 01:57 PM
Which files are you editting in dgen? Is it just plane data file or europlanes data files as well.
The campaign you are using, is it stock dgen or is it on of Boelckes or Amagis?
I have tried but met with failure every time & it gives me the woops

fruitbat
05-20-2012, 02:06 PM
Thats a stock dgen campaign, but the process is the same.

You have to add the plane to the europlanes.dat file (just copy all the FW 190 A4 entries, and paste them in after the standard A4 and change them to the FR version FW_190A4FR), and then find the campaign you want to fly, and change all the relevant entries.

I think i changed the relevant classes, planes and the actual campaign .db files from memory (just swapped out every A4 entry for the FR version).

kennel
05-20-2012, 02:32 PM
Thanks for your help Fruitbat

fruitbat
05-20-2012, 02:41 PM
Thanks for your help Fruitbat

If you have any problems let me know, and i'll try to go through detailed exactly what to do.

viktor94
05-20-2012, 05:18 PM
I´m also interrested in getting the fully rated A4 into the Dgen.
Would you please explain exactly what I have to do because since yet I only got the europlanes.dat changed so what´s next?

Thank´s in advance for your help =)

fruitbat
05-20-2012, 11:16 PM
will do tomorrow, late now here.

gaunt1
05-21-2012, 01:04 PM
There is an even easier method:

In "x:\Program Files\Ubisoft\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\DGen" folder find the plane list of the campaign you chose. For example "planesDeC.dat", or "planesJAA.dat".

There you can add any plane you want, in any time period, for example:

[Rzhev42]
FW_190A4
FW_190A4FR
BF_109F4
BF_109G2

When you start the campaign, now you can choose the new plane from the list.

JtD
05-21-2012, 05:07 PM
IIrc, this may cause the campaign to crash at some point. I once tried some simple tricks and they didn't work out 100%.

fruitbat
05-21-2012, 09:25 PM
There is an even easier method:

In "x:\Program Files\Ubisoft\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\DGen" folder find the plane list of the campaign you chose. For example "planesDeC.dat", or "planesJAA.dat".

There you can add any plane you want, in any time period, for example:

[Rzhev42]
FW_190A4
FW_190A4FR
BF_109F4
BF_109G2

When you start the campaign, now you can choose the new plane from the list.

That will work kinda as long as the plane is already recognised by Dgen

if you don't add a 'new' plane to the europlanes.dat that will not work.

plus you are likely to get mission errors/dgen crashes if you don't add it to the classes file and the campaign .db file.