PDA

View Full Version : Flak towers?

IceFire
10-31-2011, 02:48 AM
Idea popped into my head (which is always a bad thing :D)... what about flak towers? We've never had them in the game before. I'm not even sure if anyone in MOD land has ever created one.

These are what I'm talking about.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flak_tower

I realize they were for city defense... but I thought some smaller ones were used for airfields too? Perhaps they could be created using stationary ships or armor with the necessary weapons already on them?

Aviar
10-31-2011, 03:40 AM
UP3 has 4 new flak units that each simulate a 'battery' of flak guns. So you only need to place one unit in order to simulate an entire battery of flak defense. As a mission builder, I find myself loving this new toy in the FMB. I wish we could get this in stock IL-2.

I suppose this is the closest thing to a 'flak tower' we have right now.

Aviar

EJGr.Ost_Caspar
10-31-2011, 09:26 AM
That would be generally easy to make. But since the freely placeable flak units in game are always on ground level, we would have to make a choise of:

1. having a few types of tower objects with fixed armament
2. importing many new AA versions, which are to use only on top of the unarmed objects

Zorin
10-31-2011, 10:45 AM
I think these are a bit excessive and not very useful anyway as we do not have suitabl maps and certainly not the CPU power to have the vast number of AA guns firing at once.

A rather simple solution for now would be to have combinations of the exsisting bunkers and varios AA guns, cause right now you can't use the bunkers as intended as the AA guns always end up inside and not on top.

ECV56_Guevara
10-31-2011, 10:50 AM
Any of these are good options! I prefer the second one but the first will be ok.

IceFire
10-31-2011, 08:04 PM
That would be generally easy to make. But since the freely placeable flak units in game are always on ground level, we would have to make a choise of: