PDA

View Full Version : Asadexes... idea for a mod

Maluzu
02-11-2008, 12:49 PM
Perhaps I am offbase on this one.. I am new to FW..

Would it be possible to edit the multiplayer missons to allow folks to build their own forces rather than be stuck with preselected troops? Similar to how "The Gambit" works, you get a stack of gold and you design your forces.

It would make a huge difference in getting some friends of mine interested.

Thoughts?

asadexes
02-11-2008, 01:14 PM
Sure you can!

You can do it in Multiplayer missions as in Single Missions.
I think, but i'm not so sure, it's a trigger at the start of the mission.
It allows you to buy units before the mission start or also during the mission as in the single player game.
Now i'm making a big RPG map with many quests and subquest, but when i'll have a bit of time and when a real multiplayer lobby will be online i'll make a multi map with custom armies.

Maluzu
02-12-2008, 03:37 AM
"but when i'll have a bit of time and when a real multiplayer lobby will be online i'll make a multi map with custom armies."

Magog
02-12-2008, 11:48 AM
You can fix this yourself I think, if you have the editor and a few minutes to spare. :)

First you need a trigger. Go to the "Module" menu and select "Trigger editor". If you want to deploy on the first turn, you make a task with the condition "Game - Mission started" and the action "Game - Start deploy round at next turn". Very simple. :)

You also have to make sure there are deploy zones available (in the objects palette in the editor there's an icon with a green arrow and a yellow square.)

If you are editing one of the multiplayer maps that came with the game, you might want to remove all units already placed on the map. Go to the "Map" menu, select "units" and click "Delete all".

asadexes
02-12-2008, 01:37 PM
Thanks, i'll do immediatly for my new map

Maluzu
02-12-2008, 01:43 PM
VERY COOL... I will be spending time on making multiplayer maps worth playing.