PDA

View Full Version : My thinking on Space Rangers 2 and ideas for a Space Rangers 3

cairn
08-05-2011, 07:59 PM
The problem, and why I believe that Space Rangers isn't going to come out with a third is because Space Rangers 2 was more an expansion of Space Rangers than it was a sequel. Sure the storyline was sequel enough, but that was just about all that was actually sequel about it.

I just started playing Space Rangers 1 and I'm finding that Space Rangers 2 was an exact copy of Space Rangers, but with a few minor differences, the storyline, we have only one enemy in the first Space Rangers instead of three competing ones, and a few minor conveniences were added to make it easier to survive such as being able to actually search for the sales and purchase prices of commodities.

I'm sorry, but Space Rangers 2 is more an expansion than an entirely different game, and a lot of gamers, I'm sure, were dismayed by that and decided not to buy Space Rangers 2. Not to mention the DRM, Starforce, that I've read can give some people a lot of difficulty in one form or another.

I will say this, however, the price of Space Rangers 2 made it worth it. Maybe I just didn't discover Space Rangers 2 until later on, and that's why it was cheaper for me, but I remember the price being well worth it. I even ended up buying Space Rangers 2 Reboot even though it gave me the entire game again because the price wasn't absurd. It was a fair price and the game was fun enough to do again with the expansion.