PDA

View Full Version : FMB - Planes do not engage

Nepe_EAF51
07-04-2011, 04:15 PM
Hi all

Starting to get the hang of the FMB, I have some C# experience so I thought I would give it a try.

Anyway, the problem is that I canĀ“t make the fighters engage each other. I set a Spit and a 109, Ace level, Waypoint 0 is "Normal Flight", the rest (4 or 5 more) all next to each other, "Engage fighters". When the fighters merge they should be already in "Engage Fighters" mode. But they do not engage, they just keep on rudder-turning next to each other.

Am I missing something?

TIA

Ataros
07-04-2011, 06:38 PM
Do you assign the enemy group as target with a mouse?

If it does not help it may be a bug.

Try setting Free Hunt as objective.

Nepe_EAF51
07-05-2011, 06:41 AM
Thank you Ataros, for this and all the other messages about scripting, very useful.

Yes I've tried setting the target, using Free Hunt, changing the Spit for a Blenheim and the wps for the 109s as Engage Bombers...nothing.

But in the campaigns the fighters do engage, right? I think I'll have a look at some of the campaign's missions.

esmiol
07-05-2011, 08:42 AM
if your first waypoint is a normal fly, your secondary waypoint is engage fighter and the both plane cross between first and second point that won't work.

because your plane will receive order to attack fighter only in the second point.

another thing... if plane are too distant they can just not seen each other.

Nepe_EAF51
07-05-2011, 11:06 AM
Thank you esmiol. Ive tried that too, I set the first Engage wps before the merge (so both fighters already arrived to the first Engage wp before crossing), then I set a few wps more, always "Engage Fighters", and close to each other.

Looking in externals you can see how the 109 makes small movement like he is going to attack, but inmediatly changes back to "Normal Flight" mode.

SEE
07-05-2011, 11:27 AM