PDA

View Full Version : Hurricane engine torque

Redroach
04-21-2011, 10:29 PM
Introduction: Yes, I know about engine torque and propwash and the like. But in the Hurricane (Rotol), engine torque seems to be quite excessive. I'm no expert on that but early-war engines shouldn't have the power to drag the whole plane into a steep spin if you leave it alone for a short while (depends on engine mounting, too, I think).

Basically, I've not yet been able to find a combination of throttle/prop angle/mixture etc. to get the hurricane flying straight and level. So you have the options of either grab the stick and apply aileron, probably for hours on end, or apply such excessive rudder trim that your plane basically flies sideways.

Planes without aileron trim in Il-2 1946 always (or mostly :rolleyes:) had some point where the plane was trimmed - i.e. the Bf-109 was trimmed in cruise flight - 50-55% throttle. And if going combat power, the engine torque was probably thrice as light than in the current CoD hurricane (late- war 109s included (!) )

As said, I'm no engine buff and I AM a realism fan, but still, guts tell me that the engine torque of the hurricane is just too much.

And I can't remember strong engine torque in 1946's Hurricane either.

DC338
04-21-2011, 11:57 PM
Torque in the game is far too little not far too much.

Approach to stall in landing config and rapidly apply full power should produce a torque roll that it almost impossible to counter act yet in game is easy.

jdbecks
04-22-2011, 12:12 AM
I think you should back your statement up with technical support/proof instead of theorys..Not that I think your right or wrong, but when it comes to flight models only authentic data should be used/supplied then the changes made to the flight model can follow. Otherwise the simulation starts to become to in accurate.

Redroach
04-22-2011, 01:07 AM