PDA

View Full Version : Help solve this mystery - camera angle lock

smokeys_pal
01-09-2010, 04:40 PM
This is a long post, but I have a mystery I cannot resolve. Here goes…..

I've been playing IL-2 without problems for many months. OS is Vista. Patched to .09 version a month ago - no problems.

As of Jan 5th or so this is happening - IL-2 camera 'locks' in far right-rear position (i.e. numpad #3) . This occurs consistently in each option of play from the Main Menu; that is to say - in Single Missions, Pilot Career, Quick Mission, and even in Play Track with 'Manual View Control' switched 'on'.

It's just AS IF the hat switch is stuck; but, I have tried with HOTAS (joystick) unplugged - the problem persists.

The camera lock begins when a flight loads and I am 'in the cockpit'. I load a flight, and the point of view jumps to full right-rear. I can nudge the view briefly with either the numpad or with the hat button, but it quickly snaps back to right-rear.

This also occurs in external view (F2) of my own plane or of any other plane (SHIFT+F2, CTRL+F2). Just as in the cockpit view, I can only get one angle to view from externally, not the usual 360. I can get the angle to move very briefly with either the numpad or the hat button, but the view snaps right back to full right-rear (I guess it's 135 degrees).

All other features of the game operate fine - throttle, guns, elevator, flaps, etc.

The problem persists even through all these solutions I've tried:

- reset game Control Panel to defaults

- HOTAS unplugged, flying only with keyboard and mouse
- Keyboard unplugged, flying with only mouse
- Mouse unplugged (after I get the flight loaded), flying only with keyboard
- Mouse and keyboard unplugged (after I get the flight loaded), flying only with HOTAS
- checked Scroll Lock, Num Lock keys for possible interference with numpad